Monday, July 24, 2017

Don't Go To School! by Maire Zepf.....Review & Giveaway!



I know we are still in the thick of summer vacation (yay!) but, before you know it, it will be time to send the kiddos off to school. While on some days I feel like I am questioning my sanity keeping the kids home with me all summer I try and work, mostly I am super sad when school starts back up.   I miss them when they are not with me!

I was just sent a book put out by Sterling Publishing that is completely adorable and spoke to the way some parents feel when it comes to sending our kids to school. Don't Go to School!  by Maire Zepf and illustrated by Tarsila Kruse is a real gem and will be available for purchase on August 1st.  Here is the scoop...


What can a little bear do when he’s all ready for his first day of school—but his mother isn’t? “DON”T GO TO SCHOOL!” she wails. “STAY HERE WITH ME!” Mommy sulks, she’s shy, she even throws a tantrum. Can Benno convince her that everything’s okay? He comes up with an ingenious idea to help her adjust—one that many a mom and dad will recognize. This humorous story will reassure and delight nervous children, while parents feeling a little sad to see their babies grow up and march off to school will empathize with Mom!

Our Thoughts:  As I mentioned above I really miss my kids when they aren't with me and on the first day of kindergarten for all three I was a big mess!  My youngest and I sat down to read this one and we both loved it!  The story starts off as regular first day of school morning but with a spin.  While little Benno is excitedly rushing to get out the door, his poor Mom is begging him  not to go.   When they arrive at school Benno's Mom shows shyness about meeting new parents and reservations about going into the classroom with sweet Benno lovingly guiding her into these new experiences.  Once in the classroom things get a little silly when Benno's Mom tries to stay for the day because school is so much fun (my daughter loved this part and thought it was hilarious!).  When Benno explains that she must go home the solution they come up with to stay connected is so sweet you will want to steal it to do with your own loved ones.  I know I already have!

This book really is lovely and tackles the jitters kids (and parents!) have once it is time to head off to school.  Zepf adds a touch of silliness to this tale of letting go which makes it the perfect tale for kids off to school for the first time.  I think it is a great way to broach the subject of any nervousness children might have entering school for the first time.  The illustrations are fun and engaging and capture the sweet and silly moments perfectly.  This would make a wonderful gift for kids in younger grades, parents and elementary school teachers.  You can pre-order your copy now on Amazon....




Win It! I am delighted to tell you that one lucky Reviewed by Mom follower will win a copy of Don't Go To School!  Thank you so much to Sterling Publishing and good luck! a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Stuff of Family Life by Michelle Janning...Review & #Giveaway!

I just finished a fascinating book earlier this month that I have been looking forward to sharing with you.  The Stuff of Family Life by Michelle Janning looks deep into our homes and lives and what we keep in them and studies what that means about us.  It was so interesting!  Here is the scoop...

In The Stuff of Family Life (Sociology Professor Michelle Janning offers a timely look at how modern society and technology shapes our relationships and our lives. Like an archaeologist studying ancient civilizations through the things they left behind, Janning excavates contemporary life through our houses and possessions, from childhood stuffed animals and security blankets to retirement homes and senior living centers.

What does where you store old love letters say about their significance? Why do adults feel out of place in their childhood bedrooms? Janning takes readers through the stages of life – from dating and marriage to parenting and aging – that are usually kept behind closed doors. From online valentines to the growing popularity of “man caves,” The Stuff of Family Life looks not only at what large demographic studies say about family dynamics but also what our lives—and the stuff in them—say about how we relate to each other.

Janning has joked, “I am not a sociologist who uses large national datasets to illustrate family life; I’m the sociologist who asks people to examine what’s in their underwear drawers and living rooms to tell stories about their family life.” Using amusing anecdotes, as well as drawing on pop culture, economics, interior design, gender studies and more, Janning combines the educational with the entertaining to make The Stuff of Family Life accessible to both casual readers and dedicated students of sociology.


My Thoughts:  This book really was truly interesting.  I have been on a "mini kick" of ridding my home of clutter (or at least thinking about it!) and this book helped me understand some of the "whys" about my stuff.  If you are looking for a fun book that focuses on why we cherish (or not!) the things in our homes in our lives this is  a wonderful summer read.  You can pick up your copy today on Amazon....





Win It!  I am thrilled to tell you that one lucky Reviewed by Mom reader will win a copy of The Stuff of Family Life by Michelle Jannings.  Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck! a Rafflecopter giveaway

Save Money with Groupon Coupons!


As you all know by now, I am a gal who loves coupons.  As a family of 5, life gets expensive and I am always trying to  find the best ways to save money.  I clip coupons for the grocery store and pharmacy and use store loyalty cards to get the best prices.  I think doing this has really made a positive financial impact in  my life. 

Groupon is a site (and app) that I have long used to snag great deals.  I regularly use Groupon to score discounted activities for the kids (bowling, amusement park passes etc) or date nights for my husband and I (dinners out or theater tickets).  Groupon has saved me lots of money and allowed my family to afford to do things we might not otherwise splurge on.  I just recently learned that there is a whole other layer to Groupon.....coupons!

Did you know there is such a thing as Groupon Coupons!?  Groupon Coupons is another way to save with Groupon.  Unlike services or products you can buy at a discounted fee, Groupon Coupons are free coupon codes!  There are currently over 80,000 coupons available from over 12,000.  Nope...I didn't accidentally add extra zero's....there are THAT many.  These aren't a bunch of obscure stores either, you can find all the stores you use everyday which means big savings await on things you are going to buy anyway!

When you visit the Groupon site there is a coupon section.  When you click on it you can search by store name or category or view the whole list of stores.  The list of what is available is incredible!  I have taken to checking out the lists before I do any shopping because there are deals to be had anywhere.


For example, I am ordering a couple of things from Target today.  I just checked Groupon Coupon site and I found a code that allows me to get $5 off my purchase plus free shipping!  Additionally, I was able to access the mystery deal section that allowed me to scope out some extra savings that are not widely advertised.  In all there are 47 current online or instore coupons for Target alone! 

I also REALLY want to get caught up with  my photos.  I have some really great ones and I need to do something with them.  Groupon Coupon has all the deals and coupons for Shutterfly as well so I have no excuse NOT to get some printed with all the deals to be had.  Groupon Coupon has 38 coupons right now for Shutterfly including free shipping, free magnets, 50% off photo books and 25% off your total order.  Yes please!

Visit Groupon Coupons today to save big everywhere you shop. 



Friday, July 21, 2017

Minnie's Happy Helpers...Coming July 25th! Review & Giveaway!


In our house, Disney characters are still very popular with my daughter.  Actually.....they are very popular with me too!  We love them all but Minnie is a true favorite.   My daughter was thrilled when Minnie's Happy Helpers DVD showed up at our house for review.  This DVD is being released on July 25th and is sure to be a hit with Minnie fans.  Here is the scoop...


When Minnie and Daisy aren’t racing around Hot Dog Hills, they’re helping their friends with fun, odd jobs as The Happy Helpers. And no task is too big or too small for them to tackle! With a quick spin in their Turn-Styler, the Happy Helpers are ready for anything that comes their way. Whether they’re babysitting an egg that’s about to hatch, planning the perfect luau for a client, or fixing London’s Big Ben just in time for tea, Minnie and Daisy are ready to go the extra mile, with a song and a smile! 


Episodes:         Egg-Xasperating!
                        Happy Hula Helpers!
                        Tea Time Trouble!
                        Happy Birthday Helpers!
                        Bed, Breakfast and Bungled!
                        Gone Fishin’!



Our thoughts:  This DVD is adorable!  Each of the 7 episodes features Minnie and Daisy in fun and engaging adventures.  They use problem solving skills, positive attitudes and friendship to complete their tasks.  Add the fun and catchy songs and this DVD is a can't miss with kids and parents.  "R" was hard pressed to pick a favorite episode but she finally settled on Egg-Xasperating.  She really enjoyed the hijinks Minnie and Daisy encountered while babysitting a soon-to-be hatched egg while the mom Clara visited the spa :).  This DVD is a great gift a must for Disney fans.   You can pre-order it today on Amazon...



Win it! I am so happy to tell you that one lucky Reviewed by Mom follower will win a DVD copy of Minnie's Happy Helpers. Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

New Printable Coupons!

Hi All.  Happy Friday!  Before you head out to do your weekend shopping be sure to print off these great coupons.  There are big savings to be had!


FEATURED COUPONS

Save $3.00 on one (1) BIC Soleil or BIC Soleil Twilight razor pack (excludes trial and travel sizes)

Save $1.00 On any ONE (1) Caribou Iced Coffee® bottle.Expires 8/31/2017.Save $1.00.(Only at Walmart)

COUPONS.COM

Save $1.00 ONE (1) Pepsi Fire 20oz
Save $1.00 One (1) Pepsi Fire 12PK
Save $0.75 any ONE (1) all mighty pacs or POWERCORE PACS (Available at Walmart)
Save $3.00 on one (1) BIC Soleil or BIC Soleil Twilight razor pack (excludes trial and travel sizes)
Save $3.00 on any one (1) BIC Flex3™ razor pack (excludes trial and travel sizes)
Save $3.00 on any ONE (1) Adams™ Pet Product (Excluding Single Pack Collars)


SAVINGSTAR

Save $1.00 On any ONE (1) Caribou Iced Coffee® bottle.Expires 8/31/2017.Save $1.00.(Only at Walmart)


HOPSTER

$1.00 OFF any ONE (1) Vermont Creamery Fresh Goat Cheese Log (any flavor 4, 8 or 10.5 oz.)
Save $2.00 on any ONE (1) Ancient Nutrition Bone Broth Protein(TM) (excluding packets)
Save $3.00 on any ONE (1) Heliocare Anti-Aging Supplement. Unlock when you complete 1 Ferndale Laboratories, Inc activity.
Save $1.00 on any ONE (1) Vitalicious product


IBOTTA

Earn $1.50 when you purchase Nature's Recipe® Dog Food
Earn $2.50 when you purchase ARCTIC ZERO® Fit Frozen Desserts®
Earn $1.25 when you purchase ARCTIC ZERO® Fit Frozen Desserts®
Earn $5.50 when you purchase Town House® Crackers + Hummus Snack Box
Earn $0.75 when you purchase Hillshire® Snacking Small Plates
Earn $1.00 when you purchase Hillshire® Snacking Small Plates
Earn $1.00 when you purchase Zone Perfect® Nutrition Bars
Earn $1.00 when you purchase L’Oréal Paris® Facial Cleansers
Earn $0.25 when you purchase Ground Beef - Any Brand
Earn $1.00 when you purchase Brownie Brittle™ Organic
Earn $1.00 when you purchase Brownie Brittle™
Earn $0.50 when you purchase High Brew Coffee
Earn $1.00 when you purchase Brownie Brittle™
Earn $3.00 when you purchase Cetaphil® Daily Facial Cleanser
Earn $3.00 when you purchase Cetaphil® Daily Facial Moisturizer
Earn $0.50 when you purchase Country Crock® Buttery Sticks
Earn $2.00 when you purchase AXE 2-in-1
Earn $2.00 when you purchase AXE 3-in-1
Earn $2.00 when you purchase AXE Shampoo

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

#Premama Supplements!

Even though my baby days are behind me (sniff!!) I know many of you are pregnant or thinking about motherhood in the very near future.  If you a new mom, mom-to-be, breastfeeding or trying to get pregnant you must try the  Premama line of supplements.  They have a full line of supplements suited for all the needs you have during this trying time on your body.  They not only have vitamins but also aids such as a fertility blend to help you conceive, an aid to help you sleep (pregnancy robs you of this ability lots of the time!!) and a supplement that was sent my way, their "Digestive Aid". 

Now, as I said, I don't currently fall into any of the "mama" categories described above but I gave these a try as a part of MomSelect in order to give you all some feedback on the product.  The Premama Digestive Chews are chewy caramel, vanilla flavored squares of yumminess.  I was prepared to be disappointed as I have tried lots of vitamins or supplements that are allegedly supposed to "taste great" and have definitely failed to live up to their hype.  I am happy to report that these really are yummy!  I am not going to lie....it is not 100% like candy but it is almost like candy which is way better than any other chewable supplement I have tried!  These chews have a nice, subtle sweet (but not too sweet!) flavor and the texture is really good without being chalky or too sticky. 

While taste is important even more impressive is the nutritional punch Premama's Digestive Aid offers. These vegetarian chews support healthy digestion and a healthy immune system during pregnancy.  They also help ease constipation and bloating which are, for many, a huge complaint during pregnancy.  Each chew is  formulated with 1 billion CFU's of Probiotics and 2g of Fiber which are much higher than many other supplements out there.  Probiotics restore the balance of good and non-beneficial bacteria in your digestive track which is where 70% of your body's immune system resides.  When you balance this bacteria it not only gives your whole immune system a boost but it helps your digestive system works more efficiently. 

If you are a woman who is thinking of becoming pregnant, pregnant or a new mom, I think the Premama Digestive Aid Chews are a must.  They will help keep you comfortable and have your body operating at its' optimal level which is exactly what you need when you tackle on the best role of your life. 

Learn more about Premama on their website HERE.


Disclaimer: I was sent products for free or highly discounted to review for my honest opinion.  I only recommend products that I can stand behind and use myself.  Your opinions may vary from mine. 

Friday, July 14, 2017

The Idea of You by Robinne Lee...Review & Giveaway!

I have a great summer read for you today!  The Idea of You by Robinne Lee is a steamy, romantic read that is perfect for the beach.  Here is the scoop....



Solène Marchand, the thirty-nine-year-old owner of an art gallery in Los Angeles, is reluctant to take her daughter, Isabelle, to meet her favorite boy band. But since her divorce, she’s more eager than ever to be close to Isabelle. The last thing Solène expects is to make a connection with one of the members of the world-famous August Moon. But Hayes Campbell is clever, winning, confident, and posh, and the attraction is immediate. That he is all of twenty years old further complicates things.
What begins as a series of clandestine trysts quickly evolves into a passionate and genuine relationship. It is a journey that spans continents as Solène and Hayes navigate each other’s worlds: from stadium tours to international art fairs to secluded hideaways in Paris and Miami. For Solène, it is a reclaiming of self, as well as a rediscovery of happiness and love. When Solène and Hayes’ romance becomes a viral sensation, and both she and her daughter become the target of rabid fans and an insatiable media, Solène must face how her romantic life has impacted the lives of those she cares about most.

My Thoughts:  I was really looking forward to this book.  I was in the mood for something on the lighter side and The Idea of You sounded like it would fill that need.   What I was not expecting was being so riveted and having my "light" read have such a strong layer to it.  At the surface, this book is about a 39 year old divorced mom to a teenaged girl who gets swept into a relationship with a 20 year old member of a boy band (think NSync in the early days or New Kids on the Block if you want to go way back!).  What follows is lots of steamy love scenes and sneaky meet ups.  What happens next is when things get even more interesting....amidst all those trysts is love.  This unlikely couple is actually falling in love and reading about how they balance family, fame and an age difference that seems insurmountable is both funny and heartbreaking.  I really enjoyed their unexpected relationship and reading about a "May/December" romance between an older woman and younger man was refreshing because, let's face it, the situation is usually reversed!

If you are looking for the ultimate beach book to bring along on vacation The Idea of You by Robinne Lee is IT.  This book is steamy, funny, smart and one that I couldn't  put down.  Order it today from Amazon and get ready to relax in your beach chair or on the hammock!



Win It!  I am so excited to tell you that one lucky Reviewed by Mom follower will win a copy of The Idea of You!  Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck! a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Caillou: Things That Go! Out Today! #Giveaway!

PBS Kids has a brand new DVD out today!  Caillou:  Things That Go! is out now and is a must for preschoolers.  Here is the scoop...

PBS Distribution today released, THINGS THAT GO!.” In these adventures, viewers will join Caillou on his first plane ride and as he explores, and helps steer, a big sailboat. In the new DVD, Caillou also takes the subway with his mother, watches a big bulldozer at a construction site, and rides the school bus for the first time.

Caillou Flies on a Plane
It’s Caillou’s first flight and he’s curious about everything. He loves looking out the window at the ground below; he likes playing with the music system; breakfast on a plane is an adventure in itself and when the pilot invites him to visit the flight deck with Daddy that’s the best of all!

Caillou’s School Bus
Caillou doesn’t go to school yet but he really wants to ride on the school bus that stops outside his house every morning. When Dad takes him to see the bus close up, the driver offers to take Caillou with the other children the next day. Caillou makes a special painting for the driver and they have a marvelous ride.

Caillou Learns to Drive
Just like his Daddy, Caillou loves anything to do with cars, so he’s very happy when Dad asks him to help wash the family car. And while he sits in the car, he imagines he’s driving a car to the beach. When he beeps the horn, he surprises Dad, making him accidentally turn the hose on himself. Later on, when the family really goes for a drive to the beach, Caillou is reminded of his imaginary journey.

Caillou Goes to the Car Wash”   
Caillou, Dad, and Rosie take the car to the car wash. It’s Rosie's first time and she is a bit scared. But Caillou reassures her by explaining everything to her.

Caillou’s Test Drive
When their car breaks down, the family goes shopping for a new one. Caillou has never seen so many shiny cars and especially likes the one with ‘no roof’ that they go for a ride in. In the end, Mom and Dad decide to fix up their car, which makes Caillou happy.

The Big Boat!
Caillou and family go on a trip on Helen’s boat, an old friend of Mom’s. Caillou is surprised to find there’s a whole house packed into the boat. Caillou learns about wind and sails, and even gets to steer the boat too!

Trip on the Subway
Caillou learns to deal with a change in plans when Daddy has to use the car and Mommy and Caillou have to take the subway. Caillou learns a change in plans can be fun, checking out the map, getting tickets, and listening to the musicians! In fact he has so much fun, he and Mom decide to take the subway home!

Caillou and the Bulldozer
On an autumn day, Caillou and his Mommy take a walk and pass by a construction site. Caillou loves to watch the big bulldozer and starts to pretend he is one too. Back home, not everyone likes Bulldozer-Caillou as he chases Gilbert with his dust pan/bulldozer shovel and destroys Rosie’s block tower. Caillou helps Rosie build a new tower and finally finds a perfect job for a bulldozer: bulldozing the leaves with Dad in the backyard.

As Good as New
Caillou learns about ‘recycling’ – literally! When Caillou gets an eyeful of Leo’s new bicycle, he wishes his bike looked special too. So when Dad suggests they shine up his bike, Caillou’s all for it! They decorate it with their own streamers and Mom comes through with a new horn too!

Our Rocket Ship
Caillou and Leo are playing with their rocket ships in the park. Rosie wants to help them build the space station but she accidentally wrecks it. Caillou’s frustration builds when they have to go home because of Rosie’s nap. At home, Caillou and Leo continue their space game and are thrilled when Mr. Hinkle gives them a cardboard box which they transform into a rocket ship. They all work very hard to decorate it. When Rosie comes out to help, Caillou is worried she’s going to wreck it and doesn’t want her help. But with Mommy’s help, Rosie makes the perfect final touch for the rocket ship: a flag! Caillou realizes that Rosie can help too and invites her to join him on the first mission in their new rocket ship!



All Aboard!
After finding a photograph of a four-year-old Dad with a model train set, Caillou and Dad decide to look for it in Grandpa’s basement. After a while, they finally find it and set it up to test it out. Caillou is having a great time; Grandpa, Dad and Caillou all love toy trains. Grandma captures the moment in a photograph that Caillou decides to put in the photo album beside the old picture of Dad.

The Lightning Ball Express
Mrs. Howard brings over an old train set for Caillou to play with. Caillou has fun with it...until he breaks the train! Instead of telling Mrs. Howard, Caillou attempts to hide from her. When his rouse fails, Caillou confesses to breaking the train and is surprised to learn that Mrs. Howard’s son broke it many times as a child...and she knows how to fix it! 

Caillou’s Big Dig
Caillou is feeling frustrated while trying to build a model truck. He decides he wants to quit! Daddy suggests Caillou take a break and join him on an errand. Together, they stop by Eric’s dig site, where Caillou learns a little bit about archaeology – and he learns that some things take time and effort, but the effort is worth it in the end. Caillou returns home to finish his model, and is proud that he did. 

Our Thoughts:  Caillou is a staple for pre-schoolers.   This imaginative 4 year old is navigating the world just as any other pre-schooler and it is always a pleasure to go along for the ride.  Caillou is a wonderful program to help children understand the world around them in a fun and simple way.  This collection is especially great because it includes many things that young children love such as bulldozers, trucks, and cars.  This DVD is a slam dunk!  You can pick it up today on Amazon....

  





Win It:  I am so excited to tell you that PBS Kids is giving one lucky Reviewed by Mom follower a copy of Things That Go! Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck!  a Rafflecopter giveaway

Swimming with Sharks by Heather Lang....Review & Giveaway!

I have a great children's book to share with you today.  Swimming With Sharks:  The Daring Discoveries of Eugenie Clark by Heather Lang is the perfect summer read to share with your kiddos.  Here is the scoop....

Before Eugenie Clark’s groundbreaking research, most people thought sharks were vicious, blood-thirsty killers. From the first time she saw a shark in an aquarium, Japanese-American Eugenie was enthralled. Instead of frightening and ferocious eating machines, she saw sleek, graceful fish gliding through the water. After she became a scientist—an unexpected career path for a woman in the 1940s—she began taking research dives and training sharks, earning her the nickname “The Shark Lady.”

Our Thoughts:  This book was an immediate hit with my 7 year old daughter.  Like most children, she is fascinated by sharks so as soon as she saw the cover and heard the title she couldn't wait to read it.  Each page takes you along on Eugenie's journey from a young girl intrigued by sharks, to becoming a college student tackling any science class she could find, to becoming a respected scientist who became one of the most respected fish scientists of all time, discovering important facts about the misunderstood shark.  The accompanying illustrations by Jordi Solano, are wonderful, depicting the deep waters and mysterious deep. 

As a mother, I really appreciated a focus on a powerful woman who helped pave the way for many young girls who aspired to be "more".  Not only did my daughter learn more about the sharks she loves but she also learned that like, Eugenie Clark, girls can do anything they set their mind to. 

You can purchase this book at your local bookstore or directly from the Albert Whitman website HERE.

Win It:  I am so excited to tell you that the publisher, Albert Whitman, is giving TWO lucky Reviewed by Mom followers a copy of Swimming With Sharks by Heather Lang.  Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Coupon Time!

Happy Summer! I am sorry I have been MIA but I have been enjoying some really great family time and I hope you have been too. I will be getting lots of new reviews up over the next few days (and giveaways too of course!) but I wanted to be sure to tell you about some great new coupons that are out now. You can access and or print them from the links below.  I don't know about you all but having the kids home for the summer has me spending way more at the grocery store so I am really ramping up my couponing.  Every little bit helps! 

FEATURED COUPONS

Save $2.00 on ANY ONE (1) L'Oreal Paris Hydra Genius Skincare product (excludes trial size)

COUPONS.COM

Save $2.00 Off any ONE (1) Armor All Ultra Shine Wash Wipes, Ultra Shine Wax Wipes or Ultra Shine Tire & Trim Shine Sponges
Save $0.75 when you purchase any TWO (2) Gerber Cereal products
Save $1.00 When you purchase any SIX (6) Gerber Organic products
Save $1.00 When you purchase any SIX (6) Gerber Grabbers or Organic Pouches
Save $1.00 When you purchase any THREE (3) Gerber Meals/Sides
Save $1.00 When you purchase any FOUR (4) Gerber First foods
Save $1.00 When you purchase any THREE (3) Gerber Puffs, Crunchies or Yogurt Melts products
Save $1.00 On Any One (1) Package of Butterball Frozen Turkey Burgers
Save $1.00 off any TWO (2) Emerald Nut products (5 oz. or larger) (Redeemable at Walmart)
Save $6.00 TWO Prilosec OTC Products 28ct or larger (excludes trial/travel size)
Save $5.00 on any ONE (1) Culturelle Pro-Well product
Save $1.00 ONE 14ct Prilosec OTC Product (excludes trial/travel size)
Save $6.00 on ONE (1) Culturelle Pro-Well Immune + Energy product (Available at Walmart)
Save $2.00 on ANY ONE (1) L'Oreal Paris EVER haircare treatment product
Save $2.00 on ANY ONE (1) L'Oreal Paris EVER haircare shampoo and conditioner
Save $2.00 on ANY ONE (1) L'Oreal Paris Hydra Genius Skincare product (excludes trial size)


MySavings.com
Dawn Dish Soap at CVS for $0.74 a Bottle
Scope Mouthwash at CVS for $0.79 a Bottle
Wet-Nap Antibacterial Hand Wipes at Walmart for $0.97 Each


IBOTTA

Earn $1.00 when you purchase Smithfield® All Natural Fresh Pork
Earn $5.00 when you purchase Wedderspoon® Raw Manuka Honey
Earn $6.50 when you purchase Wedderspoon® Raw Manuka Honey
Earn $1.00 when you purchase French's™ Crispy Jalapeños


Thursday, June 15, 2017

The Day I Died by Lori Rader-Day...Review & Giveaway! 3 Winners!




I just finished up a great read earlier this month!  The Day I Died by Lori Rader-Day is a book just perfect for keeping you up on summer nights.  Here is the scoop...

From the award-winning author of Little Pretty Things comes this gripping, unforgettable tale of a mother's desperate search for a lost boy.
Anna Winger can know people better than they know themselves with only a glance—at their handwriting. Hired out by companies wanting to land trustworthy employees and by the lovelorn hoping to find happiness, Anna likes to keep the real-life mess of other people at arm’s length and on paper. But when she is called to use her expertise on a note left behind at a murder scene in the small town she and her son have recently moved to, the crime gets under Anna’s skin and rips open her narrow life for all to see. To save her son—and herself—once and for all, Anna will face her every fear, her every mistake, and the past she thought she'd rewritten.

My Thoughts:  I love a good thriller/mystery and The Day I Died falls nicely into this category.  This is a story about the lengths a mother will go to protect her child filled in with lots of suspense and twists and turns.  I found Anna's profession quite intriguing and it added an interesting layer to the book.  She is a "real deal" doing handwriting analysis to figure people out and solve crimes.  It is also a profession that has allowed her to stay on the run with her son for many years.  However, things start to get much  more complicated when she dives into the new case in her latest small town of Parks.  This case involves a missing toddler and his mother and the husband/father  who appears to be abusive which brings up all kinds of memories for Anna.  When her own son, Josh, goes missing the life she has been running from must now be faced. 

This book has a lot going on....in a good way!  There were "what-ifs" at every turn that kept me guessing.  I liked the character of Anna because she was real.  Sometimes you could totally relate but other times I just wanted to shake her.  The author did a wonderful job creating a main character that is both believable and fascinating.  The Day I Died would be a wonderful summer reading pick!

Buy It:  You can purchase The Day I Died at your local bookstore of on the Harper Collins website by clicking HERE.

Win It:  Harper Collins is giving THREE lucky Reviewed by Mom followers a copy of The Day I Died!  Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway