Monday, February 2, 2015

Gone Girl...Review!

 Last Spring I read the book Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and it blew me away.  I literally lost an entire day because I couldn't put the book down.  It was so smart and clever and dark....it was truly riveting and one of the best books I read all year.  When I heard there was a film coming out based on the book I was both excited and skeptical.  It was hard to believe that anything could come close to how fantastic the book was.

This past weekend my husband and I sat down to watch the movie.  I was excited to see if the film could live  up to my beloved page turner.  In case you are unfamiliar with the book or movie (where have you been??), here is the scoop...



GONE GIRL— directed by David Fincher and based upon the global best seller by Gillian Flynn — unearths the secrets at the heart of a modern marriage. On the occasion of his fifth wedding anniversary, Nick Dunne (Ben Affleck) reports that his beautiful wife, Amy (Rosamund Pike), has gone missing. Under pressure from the police and a growing media frenzy, Nick’s portrait of a blissful union begins to crumble. Soon his lies, deceits and strange behavior have everyone asking the same dark question: Did Nick Dunne kill his wife?

Every Blu-ray™ comes with an exclusive new Amazing Amy story – “Tattle Tale.” The 36-page children’s book is only available with the purchase of the GONE GIRL Blu-ray™.

Buy it HERE.

My Thoughts:  Wow.  First off, this movie is NOT for the faint of heart.  It is a true thriller with twists and turns all throughout.  I am going to be as careful as I can here to not ruin any surprises because that is part of what makes the movie so wonderful.  One of the things I really enjoyed about the book is that I never saw any of the twists coming and the movie makes the same thing happen seamlessly.  I thought Ben Affleck did a great job bringing Nick Dunne to life....his somewhat cocky and detached behavior are spot on.  Rosamund Pike is absolutely amazing.  She IS Amazing Amy.  From start to finish, Gone Girl will leave your breathlessly shaking your head as you try and figure what will happen next.  Don't even try...just let yourself be caught up in the thrilling world of Nick and Amy and be glad  your life isn't as exciting. 

I also want to mention that the addition of the Amazing Amy book with the Blu-ray is just fantastic.  I found myself shuddering and chuckling as I read through it....it was the perfect addition!

Thanks to Warner Bros for the chance to review the movie.  I was given a copy for my honest review and was not compensated for my thoughts.   Pin It

Disney on Ice is Coming to Portland! Discount Code!!

I am so excited that Disney on Ice is coming to Portland Maine next week.  We are going to opening night (stay tuned for photos and my in depth review) and the kids can't wait.  We went a couple of  years ago and it truly was a magical experience.  This year the theme is Princesses and Heroes and my daughter who is currently Elsa obsessed is over the moon about it.  Here is the scoop in case you haven't heard about the show....

 Enter a world of wonder where heroes and hearts prevail. Join Ariel as she yearns to explore the world above the waves and Prince Eric as he breaks Ursula’s slithering spell to reclaim his one true love. See Prince Phillip, in a race against time to rescue Sleeping Beauty’s Aurora, defeat the evil Maleficent as she transforms herself into a fire-breathing dragon! Be there to discover a whole new world with Jasmine and Aladdin. Join Anna and Elsa and the hilarious snowman Olaf, from Disney’s blockbuster hit Frozen, and discover how an act of true love can thaw a frozen heart. And, watch in awe as the dreams of Cinderella, Belle, Snow White, Rapunzel and Tiana all come true. High-flying jumps, daring acrobatics, breathtaking skating and lovable Disney friends are just a wish away! See Disney On Ice presents Princesses & Heroes Presented by Stonyfield YoKids Organic Yogurt where believing is just the beginning!   
The show comes to Cross Insurance Arena in Portland February 11-16.

Discount Alert:  I am so excited to tell you that Reviewed by Mom readers get an exclusive discount on Disney on Ice tickets!  Save $5 by entering MBGRP at checkout (Valid on $30 &$35 tickets. Code valid Online & Box office only. Ticketmaster and facility fees may apply. May not be used on already purchased tickets. 6 ticket limit per customer. Offer ends on February 11.) 

Click HERE to purchase tickets!  I hope to see some of you at the show and be sure to check back in next week for our review! Pin It

Dinosaur Train: Eggstravaganza + Puzzle DVD...Review & Giveaway (5 winners!)

By now, you all know how much I love PBS.  I love the programming for me (Downton Abbey anyone??) and especially for the kids.  With PBS I know the kids are watching a quality show that not only engages but also teaches.  We are fans of so many of the shows on PBS and I was delighted to hear that on January 13th PBS had released DVD and Puzzle  packs featuring some of our favorite shows!  Each DVD comes with an accompanying puzzle for your little one to enjoy...what a great idea!  Here is the rundown on these new releases...

 Join Caillou as he explores the outdoors and learns how much fun it can be to take care of the environment. Take a hike with Caillou and Grandpa to Blueberry Point or join Daddy and Grandma in the garden while they plant a tree and teach Caillou about the magic of composting. Episodes include: Caillou Can Compost; Caillou's Tree; Caillou Saves Water; Blueberry Point; Class Pet; and In the Garden.  Buy it HERE.
 
Dinosaur Train embraces and celebrates the fascination that preschoolers have with both dinosaurs and trains while sparking an interest in life science, natural history, and paleontology. Dinosaur Train - Eggstravanganza includes: Eggstravaganza; The Egg Stealer--; Hatching Party; Tank's Baby Brother; Diamond Anniversary; Nursery Car; All Kinds of Families; A Sea Turtle Tale; and The Good Mom. Buy it HERE.

 
With a breakthrough interactive approach to reading education, classic fairytales with an innovative preschool twist and colorful and empowering young heroes, Super WHY! is the only preschool property created to help kids learn the fundamentals of reading through interactive storybook adventures. Fairytales include: Jack and the Beanstalk, The Princess and the Pea, The Three Little Pigs, and Little Red Riding Hood.  Buy it HERE.

This DVD includes 3 grr-ific tales: Daniel's Birthday, Daniel's Picnic, and Neighbor Day (a special double episode). As preschoolers and their families follow four-year-old Daniel's everyday adventures, they learn fun and practical strategies and skills necessary for dealing with everyday experiences, like dealing with disappointment and discovering the joy of doing something kind for a neighbor.  Buy it HERE.

The kids and I were lucky enough to receive Dinosaur Train:  Eggstravaganza to review and it was an instant hit.  The adorable characters serve up lots of excitement with little ones peppered with plenty of scientific facts.  

If you are looking for something to engage your little ones while providing the with quality choices any one of these PBS offerings would be a fantastic way to go.  I am also thinking these would be a sweet treat for your little Valentines!

Giveaway ALERT:  I am so excited to tell you that FIVE lucky Reviewed by Mom readers will winDinosaur Train: Eggstravaganza + Puzzle DVD.  Thank you so much to the sponsor and here is how to enter...


a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It

Orkin CleanRest Pillow Encasement Giveaway!

I know bed bugs are NOT something anyone likes to think about. Ever.  I mean...ewwww!  However, gross as the thought is, bed bugs do exist and when it comes to something like this, knowledge is power!  Orkin has created some great materials to help you spot bed bugs and how to prevent them....
 Check out this fun game to see how you rate at beating the bed bugs (Hint: use the facts above as a cheat sheet!).

Giveaway Alert:  Orkin is giving one lucky reader a  CleanRest Pillow Encasement!


To enter take the quiz and tell me how you did! Use the Rafflecopter form below to enter and good luck! a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

The Siege Winter by Ariana Franklin &Samantha Norman...Review & Giveaway!

I just finished reading a great book and I am so excited to share it with you today...The Siege Winter by Ariana Franklin and Samantha Norman.  Here is the scoop...

A powerful historical novel by the late Ariana Franklin and her daughter Samantha Norman, The Siege Winter is a tour de force mystery and murder, adventure and intrigue, a battle for a crown, told by two courageous young women whose fates are intertwined in twelfth century England’s devastating civil war.
1141. England is engulfed in war as King Stephen and his cousin, the Empress Matilda, vie for the crown. In this dangerous world, not even Emma, an eleven-year-old peasant, is safe. A depraved monk obsessed with redheads kidnaps the ginger-haired girl from her village and leaves her for dead. When an archer for hire named Gwyl finds her, she has no memory of her previous life. Unable to abandon her, Gwyl takes the girl with him, dressing her as a boy, giving her a new name—Penda—and teaching her to use a bow. But Gwyn knows that the man who hurt Penda roams free, and that a scrap of evidence she possesses could be very valuable.
Gwyl and Penda make their way to Kenilworth, a small but strategically important fortress that belongs to fifteen-year-old Maud. Newly wedded to a boorish and much older husband after her father’s death, the fierce and determined young chatelaine tempts fate and Stephen’s murderous wrath when she gives shelter to the empress.
Aided by a garrison of mercenaries, including Gwyl and his odd red-headed apprentice, Maud will stave off Stephen’s siege for a long, brutal winter that will bring a host of visitors to Kenilworth—kings, soldiers . . . and a sinister monk with deadly business to finish.

My Thoughts:  I love historical fiction.  It is one of my favorite genres so I was really excited to dive into The Siege Winter and it did not disappoint.  I thought the writing stayed true to the times and the story line was incredibly exciting and moved right along.  While the twelfth century was a violent and dangerous time (and that aspect obviously IS a factor in the book) the authors bring to life characters who have a depth of emotion so much more than being a product of their times.  There is mystery, love and even some humor peppered throughout this tale.

I had never read any of the late Ariana Franklin books but I was touched to think of her daughter finishing this book for her after she passed away.  I found myself trying to figure out where Franklin left off and Norman began but I couldn't.  They must have been incredibly in sync.  After reading The Siege Winter, I will definitely be picking up earlier books from Franklin and will be hoping for more from Samantha Norman.  You can pre order The Siege Winter on Amazon by clicking HERE.

I am so pleased to tell you that the publisher is giving one lucky Reviewed by Mom reader a copy of The Siege Winter.  Thanks so much to the sponsor and here is how to enter...
a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It

The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2: Funny Side Up...Review and Giveaway!

When I was a kid, one of my favorite cartoons to watch was Tom and Jerry. I remember laughing along at all their silliness and never tiring of their antics. Now my own children love watching Tom and Jerry too and this time around they  have a crisper look!  With the latest animation the classic Tom and Jerry we grew up with comes to life for a new generation and there is now a brand new DVD available, The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2:  Funny Side Up.  Here is the scoop...

There’s more laughs, chases and races when everyone’s favorite cat and mouse duo storm back on the scene in The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2: Funny Side Up, available on DVD January 13, 2015 from Warner Bros. Home Entertainment (WBHE). The Tom and Jerry Show, which premiered number one in its time slot on basic cable in April,* brings the legendary antics of Tom and Jerry to an all-new animated TV series. The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2: Funny Side Up is comprised of 13 episodes and will retail for $19.97 SRP.

The timeless adventures of Tom and Jerry are back in a brand-new TV show the whole family can enjoy! The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2: Funny Side Up features 13 exciting escapades featuring Tom and Jerry and their favorite pals, including Spike and Tuffy.  The pursuit takes off as Tom, Jerry and the gang fly through unfriendly skies in Just Plane Nuts. Detectives Tom and Jerry are on the case to find Spike’s missing dog bones in Bone Dry. Love is in the air when a mad scientist transports Tom and Jerry to Paris to meet a girl cat and a girl mouse in Molecular Break Up. Jerry and Tuffy cause havoc on a luxury cruise liner in Cruisin’ for a Bruisin’. These and several other hilarious episodes are featured in this entertaining set.

“With cutting-edge animation and innovative story-telling, The Tom and Jerry Show, has brought a classic cartoon to a brand-new generation of viewers,” said Mary Ellen Thomas, Vice President Family & Animation Marketing. She added, “The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2: Funny Side Up will delight viewers of all ages. We’re delighted to bring another entertaining Tom and Jerry release to consumers.”

Originally created by William Hanna and Joseph Barbera, Tom and Jerry emerged during Hollywood’s golden age of animation and became one of the most popular cartoon series in existence. The shorts focus on the never-ending rivalry between Tom the cat and Jerry the mouse. The plots of each short usually center on Tom’s attempts to capture Jerry. Jerry however, is clever and quick on his feet so Tom hardly ever manages to catch him. 


Our Thoughts:  The other day it was in the single digits so the kids and I snuggled up in the living room and popped in this DVD.  What fun we had!  The same silly and fun antics between cat and mouse were still there all in the modern day animation.  The kids and I giggled and laughed as poor Tom time and time again is outsmarted by the cunning Jerry.  It is rare these days that I can find programming that appeals to the whole family but Tom and Jerry is one that everyone enjoys.  The kids have already told me they would like me to bring this DVD along on our upcoming road trip to Quebec so they can watch it on the car ride.  That sounds like a great idea to me.

If you are looking for a fun, classic program the whole family can enjoy, pick up The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2:  Funny Side Up today.  You can purchase it here.

Giveaway Alert:  I am so excited to tell you that Warner Bros has generously offered a giveaway for my readers!  One lucky Reviewed by Mom reader will win The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2:  Funny Side Up.  Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It

Saturday, January 17, 2015

New Curious George Vantines Day Episode...Coming Soon!

The PBS program, Curious George, has been a staple in our home for years.  This curious monkey and his antics and sweet disposition never get old.  I was so excited to hear that there will be a new Valentine's Day episode coming up next month.  I know the kids and I will be watching!  Here is the scoop...
The ninth season of Curious George, the PBS KIDS hit series, continues with a new episode full of love and curiosity on Monday, February 9, 2015 (check local listings).

In “Happy Valentine’s Day, George,” Curious George wants to make his friends the best Valentine’s Day card ever, but even with four paws, it takes a long time to create homemade cards for everyone. Using sponge shapes, red paint, and a waffle iron, George creates the first ever monkey Valentine’s printing press!

“George is a little monkey with a big heart,” says executive producer Dorothea Gillim. “Between George’s monkey antics and a catchy song, this episode is our Valentine to all our loyal viewers.”

This season continues to focus on teaching preschoolers about science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) concepts, as well as use of the five senses (smell, taste, hearing, touch, and sight). The curious monkey’s adventures go in “Oh Deer.” When a hungry deer keeps nibbling on the flowers in George and Allie’s garden, George uses all of his five senses to keep the deer out. A scarecrow, loud noises, sticky tape, and stinky rotten eggs don’t work, leaving George with one last sense: taste! Will George’s recipe keep the deer away or make them hungry for more?

Curious George airs weekdays on PBS KIDS (check local listings). For more monkey fun, parents can access a variety of fun and educational resources, including games on the five senses like “Roller Monkey” and “Cows Don’t Quack!” on the Curious George website. Click here for a great variety of more fun games, special activities, printables, and videos!

I also wanted to mention that my 5 year old daughter really enjoys the online Curious George games on  the PBS Kids website.  These educational games are free and you should definitely check them out!
Pin It

Thursday, January 15, 2015

'Maya the Bee' Movie...In Theaters March 8th!!

I am so excited to share an upcoming movie release with you all today. Maya the Bee Movie is coming to select theaters on March 8th.  This darling movie based on the very popular book, The Adventures of Maya the Bee is sure to be a hit with the whole family.

Here is the scoop (or buzz!)...

Synopsis
Maya is a little bee with a big heart. She dreams of an exciting life of freedom, fun and adventure – the world is simply far too interesting to stay inside a hive! Her funny attempts to fit in bring her into trouble with the Queen’s narrow-minded royal advisor, Buzzlina. With her best friend Willy, Maya buzzes out into the meadow on an exhilarating adventure of self-discovery.

While most bees believe that other insects should be feared, Maya can’t help but make friends with Flip the charismatic and eccentric grasshopper, Kurt the dung beetle and even Sting, a young hornet. But when the Queen’s royal jelly is stolen, it will take Maya and all of her bug buddies to figure out who did it and how to save the day!


Take a sneak peek...
 
How adorable does that look??  Don't you just want to jump right in?   Who will you be taking to see this upcoming flick? Pin It

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Spa Sonic Pro....Review & Giveaway!

How many of you are feeling the effects of Winter on your skin?  It was -3 degrees when I took the kids to school today and, let me tell you, my skin quickly feels chapped and dry from such cold weather.  Don't even get me started on those whipping winds.  Can you tell I am already over Maine winters??  Lucky for me I have a secrete weapon for dealing with my winter skin and it is a whole lot less expensive than a trip to Tahiti.  The Spa Sonic Pro Skin Care System does wonders for the texture of my skin especially when winter wreaks havoc on it.

Have you heard of the Spa Sonic Pro?  If not, here is the scoop....

The new Spa Sonic Pro Skin Care System Professional Face and Body Polisher is a 2 speed waterproof device which is ideal for use in the shower, bath and sink.  It operates with 5 attachments: large brush for the body, small brush for the face, pumice for rough areas, facial sponge and pore minimizing silicone brush.  It also includes a luxurious and convenient storage/travel tote. Available exclusively at Walgreens.com and Drugstore.com


I have never had a chemical peel of any sort but the results I am getting from my Spa Sonic make me think it is much like this.  From the first time I used it on my face, the dullness just lifted away leaving my skin looking renewed and fresh.  Now, with daily use, I can really see the overall texture of my skin looking improved and less "tired".  It also allows my moisturizers to more fully penetrate which makes a huge difference during this time of year!

I find myself mostly using the face and body brushes in conjunction with the facial sponge (this helps with the absorption of moisturizers).  These are part of my daily regime and are a quick and easy way to ramp up my beauty routine.  I especially love that they are waterproof which means you do this right in the shower...perfect!   One or week or so I use the pumice stone on my heels and it is like my own  home pedicure system.  My feet will be ready for sandals without a pricey pedicure....hooray!

I can't recommend the Spa Sonic Pro enough.  It is a simple way to improve your skin and priming it for protective moisturizers.  For the price of $41.99 you can get the results of way pricier spa treatments all while enjoying the conveniences of doing it in your own home.  This is a must have beauty product.  Pick yours up today on Walgreens.com HERE.

I am so pleased to tell you that Woods & Co. is giving one lucky RBM reader their very own Spa Sonic Pro!  Thanks so much to the sponsor and here is how to enter... a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It

My Little Pony The Complete Series...Review!

You may remember that I recently hosted a giveaway for the My Little Pony Equestria Girls DVD.  I was reminiscing while watching that show remembering how I grew up with the original My Little Pony series.  It was a real favorite of mine which is why I was SO excited to review the My Little Pony:  The Complete Series.  Here is the scoop...


Get ready for lots of sunshine, rainbows, and happiness, pony-style! The original TV series that started the My Little Pony phenomenon is finally coming to DVD in its entirety. My Little Pony The Complete Series features all 65 episodes, and will be available September 30 in the U.S. and Canada from Shout! Factory Kids in collaboration with Hasbro Studios. 

You’re invited to return to Ponyland, the home of all your favorite classic Little Ponies, including the Earth Ponies, Unicorns, Pegasus Ponies, Flutter Ponies, Sea Ponies, Baby Sea Ponies, their human friends Megan, Danny and Molly and, of course, their dragon friend, Spike! Together, they live a life of games, songs and harmony with allies like the Bushwoolies and Furbobs. But, occasionally, there are problems in Ponyland and the Little Ponies of Paradise Estate must face evil witches, goblins, Stone Backs, Grundles and more! Now you can join in the fun and adventure with My Little Pony: The Complete Series!
What a treasure this 4 DVD set is! It is as I remembered it but even more charming. I wondered how my 5 year old daughter would take to it with its more 80's animation but she loved it too. The show is less glamorous than cartoons today and, quite frankly, that is just fine by me. The Little Ponies work together to face evil (but not too scary) villains using bravery and teamwork. The episodes heavily focus on an exciting story line and the message of friendship.  The original My Little Ponies is wholesome viewing for the whole family.  I dare you not to become smitten with those baby ponies :)!

You can purchase your the My Little Pony:  The Complete Series today on Amazon HERE.

Do you remember the Ponies from your childhood?  Did you have the figures like I did (I wish I still had them!!)?  Share your MLP memories with me :). Pin It

Lush Decor $200 Gift Card Giveaway!!!

lush decor giveaway  

Who doesn't love a giveaway that gives you the chance to revamp your space??  Lush Decor is is a fabulous company that offers great products that will spruce up your space!  Read below for a coupon code and a chance to enter a $200 giveaway.  Good luck!!

Welcome to the Lush Decor $200 Gift Card Giveaway
Hosted by Miss Frugal Mommy & Sponsored by Lush Decor

About Lush Decor

Lush Décor is all about Inspired Living. Jenny Zhu, our CEO founded the company because she aspired to create affordable fashion that can be enjoyed through all the phases of your life. We offer a wide range of designs and workmanship to help you create your own “look” and lifestyle." "Lush Décor is Designed for Life. At Lush Décor we believe that great designs at terrific values will always trump something that is ordinary and very promotionally priced. For us its all about you enjoying our creations today, tomorrow and for years to come"

Coupon Alert

Lush Decor wants you to save even more on their wonderful products, so they have provided my fans with a 10% coupon code to use. This code never expires, so feel free to come back later and use it again! Make sure to use coupon code "L6UWFNCD" at checkout to receive 10% off your Lush Decor order!   Now for the exciting part! One lucky fan is going to win a $200 gift card to the Lush Decor website! This giveaway is open to US residents 18 and older. Enter to win in the giveaway tools below, all entries will be verified, one entrant per household or you will immediately be disqualified. Winner will be contacted via email and has 48 hours to respond before a new winner is chosen. Prize fulfillment is the responsibility of the sponsor and not the participating bloggers. Good Luck!!!
  I was not compensated for this post. This blog is not responsible for prize fulfillment. This giveaway is in no way sponsored, administered or endorsed by Facebook, Twitter, or Pinterest. If you have any questions, concerns or would like your product featured in the next giveaway, please contact Miss Frugal Mommy via email: MsFrugalMommy@hotmail.com Pin It

Mark Your Calendars...Odd Squad Special on January 19th!

Have your kids seen the new PBS Kids program, Odd Squad?  My kids love it!  It is a great show with lots of adventures and an emphasis on math and problem solving skills.  If your kids haven't watched it, they should.  On January 19th there will be an hour long special that I know my kids are super excited about.  Make a plan to watch it or be sure to set those DVR's!  Here is the scoop...

“Odd Squad Saves the World” premieres on Monday, January 19th (check your local listing). The Odd Squad agents tackle high-stakes cases and work together to overcome their biggest obstacles yet (case file descriptions below). ODD SQUAD, a live-action series designed to help kids 5-8 build math and collaboration skills, focuses on two young agents, Olive and Otto, who are part of Odd Squad, an agency whose mission is to investigate unusual occurrences.


“Odd Squad Saves the World” includes the following four stories:

Rise of the Hydraclops: In order to save the world, Olive and Otto must locate a treasure chest that Oscar buried.
Dance Like Nobody's Watching: When the alarm system at Headquarters is triggered, Olive, Otto, Ms. O and Oscar must avoid a series of booby traps in order to shut it off.
Recipe for Disaster: Olive and Otto explain to Ms. O how a case went wrong, each in their own way.
O Is Not for Old: The agents throw a surprise party for Ms. O.
Pin It

Happy Dress Up Your Pet Day (really!)!

Did you know today is National Dress up your Pet Day?  I am not sure how my pup Chewy would take to me putting him in a costume but it is so cold in my neck of the woods today that maybe I should try dressing him up in a  bear suit or something!

In celebration of National Dress Up Your Pet Day, I wanted to share the details of an upcoming release that is sure to please all the pet lovers in your life...Russell Madness will be available for your viewing pleasure on March 6.  here is the scoop....

The Talking Dog-Loving Team that has Dressed-Up Pets for Generations
Including Air Bud and Air Buddies … Debuts an Exciting All-New Family Film! 

 

Coming Home on Blu-ray™, DVD and Digital HD -- MARCH 10


LOS ANGELES, Calif., January 14, 2015 <> – In celebration of today’s world-renowned pet holiday ‘Dress-Up Your Pet Day,’ Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment and Air Bud Entertainment, announced that the hilarious and heartwarming pet-filled, family adventure RUSSELL MADNESS, will make its Blu-ray™, DVD and Digital HD debut, on March 10, 2015 (http://www.airbud.com/russellmadness). The action-packed family feature’s home entertainment release follows a February debut in theatres as part of the Fandango Family Screening Series (Fandango.com/RussellMadness).

RUSSELL MADNESS is produced by Air Bud Entertainment, the creative force behind the #1 live-action, direct-to-video movies in the family category. The exciting, action-packed adventure introduces ‘Russell,’ a talking (and costume-wearing) Jack Russell Terrier who accidentally becomes a professional wrestling superstar, on the way to discovering the true power…of family.

The film stars John Ratzenberger (‘Toy Story,’ ‘Cars,’ TV’s Cheers), Fred Willard (TV’s Modern Family) David Milchard (TV’s Convos with my 2-Year Old), Mason Vale Cotton (TV’s Mad Men), McKenna Grace (TV’s Crash and Burn) and John Hennigan (former WWE star) along with the voices of talking animal stars including Will Sasso (TV’s ‘MadTV’ and ‘The Three Stooges’) and Sean Giambrone (TV’s The Goldbergs). RUSSELL MADNESS is directed by ‘Air Bud’ and ‘Buddies’ veterans Robert Vince, written and produced by Robert Vince and Anna McRoberts.

Synopsis
RUSSELL MADNESS tells the story of Russell, an undersized but big-hearted terrier who dreams of having a family of his own. After running away from his current pet store residence, Russell gets taken in by The Ferraros, a family desperate to revive their grandfather’s pro wrestling arena. That’s when they discover their new pet pooch has incredible wrestling skills. With help from his coach, Hunk, a savvy and hilarious monkey, Russell rockets to the top of the pro wrestling world and becomes a famous sports superstar. But when a dishonest promoter double-crosses the Ferraros, Russell will face his biggest challenge and discover that the strongest tag team is family. RUSSELL MADNESS is rated ‘PG’ by the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA). 
 
I don't know about you guys but I can't wait to watch this with my kiddos!  Have a wonderful Wednesday and please let me know if you decide to dress up your pet today!
Pin It

Monday, January 12, 2015

365 Days of Pinterest Day 4....Harvest Sweet Potato Soup

Oh, readers.  I am so dreadfully behind on this New Year's Resolution I promised you!  All these wonderful giveaways have taken up my writing time.  I hope you can forgive me for getting to those first.  I promise I will be catching up on this feature though because it has been really fun!  So, although we are on January 12, I am on Day 4 (not too shabby though!!).

The other day I tackled Taste of Home's Harvest Potato Soup.  It was yet another blustery day here in Maine and it sounded just right for the day and I also have most of the required ingredients on hand.  Here is the recipe from my pin which you can find HERE.....



•In a Dutch oven, saute celery and onion in oil until tender. Add remaining ingredients; bring to a boil over medium heat. Reduce heat; simmer for 25-30 minutes or until potatoes are tender. • Discard bay leaf. Cool slightly. In a blender, process soup in batches until smooth. Return all to pan and heat through. Yield: 4 servings.

I made a few small changes to the recipe. I used olive oil instead of canola and I used a whole onion.  I also opted to use regular vegetable broth (not lower sodium) and did not add any salt.  The result was delicious!!  This recipe felt rich, warming and filling while still being a healthy choice.  I added a dash of hot sauce to mine for a little bit of  kick and it was outstanding. This recipe will now be a winter time go to soup in my home!  Here is soup (not as pretty but I am betting just as delicious!)....

Will you try this one out too?  Pin this recipe for later and let me know how it goes!


Pin It

Louise Loves Art by Kelly Light...Review & Giveaway!

Do you have a resident "artiste" in your home?  If so, then I have a book for you!  Louise Loves Art by Kelly Light is a darling book outlining the passion a young girl has for her art as well as the love she has for her little brother.  Here is the scoop on this darling story...

LOUISE LOVES ART by Kelly Light ($17.99, ages 4-8)
For fans of Olivia and Eloise, this stunning debut from Kelly Light is an irresistible story about the importance of creativity in all its forms.
Meet Louise. Louise loves art more than anything. It's her imagination on the outside. She is determined to create a masterpiece—her pièce de résistance!
Louise also loves Art, her little brother. This is their story.
Louise Loves Art is a celebration of the brilliant artist who resides in all of us.
This story was just so lovely. Louise is really captured as a passionate artist on a mission to create a wonderful masterpiece.  All the while her brother, Art, follows her around obviously idolizing her.  When Louise discovers that Art has taken HER masterpiece and made one of his own is when the story really delights.  After a brief meltdown she recognizes that Art has made his very own masterpiece to  show her and she proudly encourages him and puts it on display.  The book is  a fun and lively tale of creativity and sibling love.  The illustrations are whimsical (love the cat!!) and perfect for the story with minimal colors and lots of detail.  My 5 year old daughter regularly asks for this story and it has already become a household favorite.  You can pick up your copy today HERE.

I am so  pleased to tell you that one lucky Reviewed by Mom reader will win a Louise Loves Art book, poster and stickers!  Thanks so much to the sponsor and here is how to enter... a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It

Sunday, January 11, 2015

Great Deals on iPhones!!


***This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links


You all know I love a great deal so I had to pass this one along to you!  Gazelle offers some fantastic prices on pre-owned iPhones.  This is cost effective way to get an phone that does it all (I love mine!!).  Read below for details and happy shopping.



U.S. moms and dads are still buying the iPhone 4 and 4S. And for good reasons.
Previous models prove to be just right for many and their children when buying a used iPhone.

Since launching Gazelle’s certified pre-owned iPhones in October 2014, we’ve seen strong sales of the iPhone 4 and 4S. Surprisingly, one in five certified pre-owned iPhones purchased have been for one of these smartphones first introduced three to four years ago. For many, it’s the perfect device for their family needs.

When we surveyed customers to ask what they were planning to do with their certified pre-owned iPhone 4S, 18% were buying it as a first smartphone for themselves or someone else. That’s more than we’ve seen for any other model. One quarter of iPhone 4S models were being purchased for children. Many moms and dads told us they wanted to see their children demonstrate responsibility with their iPhone before buying them a new model.

Pre-owned iPhones make a great alternative for many parents who are looking to purchase a phone for their children, particularly as Gazelle completes a rigorous 30-point inspection on each device, backed with a 30-day risk-free return policy. For those looking for a low-cost phone as their child’s device, Gazelle offers iPhones from the 4 all the way up to the new iPhone 6 Plus as well as Samsung Galaxy phones and iPads.

For a limited time, Gazelle has discounted the price of the certified pre-owned iPhone 4S, starting at just $159. Visit Buy.Gazelle.com today to take a look at our certified pre-owned iPhone inventory!

Pin It