Friday, February 17, 2017

Pup Star....Airing Tonight!

I don't know about you guys but my kids love movies with talking animals.  Add a voice and a big personality to a furry critter and they are all in!  Tonight I am sure we will be tuning into Pup Star on the Disney channel tonight to watch Pup Star!  Check it out....

Air Bud Entertainment announces that their newest film, PUP STAR, will air for the first time on broadcast television on Disney Channel, Friday, February 17 (8:30 p.m. ET/PT).  From the creators of the beloved ‘Air Bud’ and ‘Disney Air Buddies’ franchises, PUP STAR is a dog-filled spin on America’s hit TV singing competitions, loaded with music, including 13 original songs, and the biggest cast of talking (and singing) canines ever assembled. 

 Synopsis
Welcome to a world where dogs can not only talk -- they can SING!  Tiny, an adorable Yorkie pup with a big voice, gets a chance to audition for the singing competition for dogs, “Pup Star.” After she earns a place in the finale, she’s dog-napped!  The adventure begins when she escapes and is faced with an incredible cross-country journey back to the competition finale, meeting friends along the way who help her learn to sing from her heart and encourage her to believe in herself and never give up on her dreams!

Sounds cute, right!?  You can find out more and stay up to date with news by following the Pup Star social media channels....


Social Media:
Twitter: @PupStarMovie



Tune in tonight and be sure to check back in and let me know what you and your family thought!
Pin It

Long Way North....Review & Giveaway!

Have any of you seen the film Long Way North yet?  If not you really should take the time to watch.  It is a beautifully done story and is available now on DVD.  Here is the scoop... A spirited and inspiring tale of hope and courage, Shout! Factory’s critically acclaimed animated feature Long Way North is now available as a Blu-ray/DVD/Digital combo at Walmart, Target and other major retailers, as well as on iTunes and all major digital platforms. Nominated for an Annie Award for Best Animated Feature-Independent and Certified Fresh on Rotten Tomatoes, Long Way North tells the story of a young heroine persevering through a physical and emotional journey to find her explorer grandfather and his lost ship, the Davai. Directed by celebrated filmmaker and animator Rémi Chayé (The Secret of Kells), this award-winning film offers an immersive cinematic adventure that brims with heart, action, powerful storytelling and gorgeous animation in equal measure. You can watch a clip here... This movie was really great. I loved that the lead role was a strong female (something still al too rare these days!).  I know how hard it can be to find a movie that keeps everyone happy.  This one is great for kids and adults alike with a powerful story of family and plenty of adventure to keep the kids engaged.  This one is a family movie night win!  You can pick  up your copy on Amazon... I am so pleased to tell you that Shout! Factory is giving one lucky RBM reader a copy of Long Way North.  Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck to you!  To enter, please use the Rafflecopter form....
Pin It

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Littlest Pet Shop: Pet Stars....Review & Giveaway!



My daughter is a huge fan of the Littles Pet Shop brand.  We have lots of the toys (figures, play sets) and the show is a huge hit with her.  She loves the characters and it is a real "go to" here in our house. On Valentine's Day "Pet Stars" was released on DVD and we happened to be snowed in that day and my daughter very much enjoyed being cozy on the couch watching this DVD. Here is the scoop...

A pet star is born! On February 14, 2017, buddy up with Blythe and her superstar pet pals with Littlest Pet Shop: Pet Stars on DVD from Shout! Kids, in collaboration with Hasbro Studios.

Sinister king cobras! Comedy festivals! Pet hotels! And a monkey on Mars?! It's all here, as Blythe and her best friends – Russell the Hedgehog, Pepper the Skunk, Zoe the Spaniel, Minka the Monkey, Sunil the Mongoose, Penny the Panda and Vinnie the Gecko – share one outrageous adventure after another in The Littlest Pet Shop: Pet Stars!

Episodes Include:
·         Heart Of Parkness
·         Standup Stinker
·         The Secret Recipe
·         A Night At The Pawza
·         Sue Syndrome


This DVD did not disappoint! My daughter loved it and the characters really are adorable. She, of course, loves Blythe but her heart was also stolen by Zoe the Spaniel. This one is a must for Littlest Pet Shop fans and can be purchased on Amazon....
I am so happy to tell you that Shout! Factory is giving one lucky RBM reader Littlest Pet Shop: Pet Stars to enjoy!  Thanks to the sponsor and good luck.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter form.... a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It

Transformers Rescue Bots: Protect and Explore....Review & Giveaway!

Who is ready for another giveaway? How about something for the Transformers fans in your life? Check out the latest from the Rescue Bots....
Transformers Rescue Bots: Protect and Explore
Get ready for big adventures and rescues in the great outdoors! Transformers Rescue Bots: Heroes of Tech will be released on DVD on February 21, 2017 from Shout! Kids, in collaboration with Hasbro Studios. Featuring five exciting episodes that the whole family can enjoy, this DVD is priced to own with a suggested retail price of $14.93.

When a mysterious iceberg is spotted off the coast of Griffin Rock, it brings both danger and the interest of an old nemesis. On a nature hike, the Rescue Bots team will have to battle escaped snakes. And when the Burns family is stranded at sea by a swarm of jellyfish, the Bots must control miniature souvenir replicas of themselves. Enjoy these adventures and more in Transformers Rescue Bots: Protect and Explore!

Episodes Include:
·         Tip of the Iceberg
·         Buddy System
·         No Place Like Dome
·         Thieves Like Us
·         The New Recruits

This DVD is available for pre-order on Amazon....

This would make a great gift for the boys in your life who love adventure and  excitement and would make a welcome distraction from the long winter days!

I am so glad to tell you that Shout! Factory is giving one lucky RBM reader a copy of Transformers Rescue Bots:  Protect and Explore! Thanks to the sponsor and good luck.  To enter, please use the rafflecopter form..... a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It

Butter London=Pretty Remedies for Winter Blahs!

You know what  a great way to beat the winter "blahs" is?  Make-up.  Yes, make-up.  For me, indulging in some pretty, new make-up to spruce up my look is just the ticket to brightening my mood.  I was recently sent some goodies from Butter London and it was just what the doctor ordered to get me out of my snowy funk! 


Celebrity make-up artist Scott Patric is using these products  for Project Runway Junior.  And you know what?  If it is good enough for Project Runway Junior it is probably good enough for this Maine gal! 


Golden Eye
Play up your eyes with a rich golden shimmer that will have your significant other staring.

This gloss looks like so much fun and it currently packed in my make-up bag for my cruise.  Stay tuned for me bronzed, relaxed and nowhere near snow wearing this shade!!

Glazen Eye Gloss in Spark
$24 via www.butterlondon.com



Poppy Pout

For a fresh, floral take on the classic red lip, try a vibrant orange-red pout.

This is a fun and bold look.  I love the smooth texture!

Moisture Matte Lipstick in Ladybird


I fell like you guys have just been listening to me complain about the snow but to be honest, it is quite lovely sometimes and I do get out there and walk and snowshoe and play with the kids.  Earlier today I went for a walk in the snow/slush and I put on this gorgeous lipstick.  I might have had hat hair going on but putting on that lipstick made me feel pretty fabulous before my jaunt.  You can pick up "Plush Rush" lipstick in the shade "daring" for $22 via www.butterlondon.com.

I hope you all will treat yourself to some of these fun looks to freshen up your look. What is your favorite of the three?



Pin It

My Little Pony: Exploring the Crystal Empire....Review & Giveaway!




How many of you remember My Little Pony from when you were a kid?  Those cute figures were a huge part of my childhood.  I love collecting them and would spend hours playing with them.  I am so happy these characters from "way" back then are still around and popular.  My daughter who is 7 enjoys playing with them and enjoys the cartoon as well.  She was really excited when we received "My Little Pony:  Friendship is Magic" in the mail to watch.  Here is the scoop...

My Little Pony – Friendship Is Magic: Exploring the Crystal Empire is coming to DVD on February 7, 2017 in the U.S. and Canada from Shout! Kids in collaboration with Hasbro Studios. 

Join Twilight Sparkle, everypony's favorite studious princess, and her very best friends – Rainbow Dash, Applejack, Rarity, Fluttershy, Pinkie Pie and Spike – as they explore the wondrous arctic kingdom, the Crystal Empire! Old enemies return and new friends are made in this collection of episodes that will have you exploring the Crystal Empire with magical adventure!
Episodes Include:
·         The Cutie Re-mark, Part 1
·         The Cutie Re-mark, Part 1
·         The Cutie Re-mark, Part 2
·         The Crystalling, Part 1
·         The Crystalling, Part 2
·         The Times They Are A Changeling
This DVD is a must for any My Little Pony fan. The cartoons are sweet and fun with a focus on friendship.  I would highly recommend for your little girl's library!  You can pick this DVD up on Amazon


I am so pleased to tell you that the kind folks at Shout! Factory are giving one lucky RBM reader a copy of Exploring the Crystal Empire DVD. Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck. Please use the Rafflecopter form below to enter.... a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Snow Day Fun

We are in the midst of our nor'easter and we are making the most of it!  Snow shoes, football and shoveling have made for a fun day so far.  I think we've earned out hot cocoa today! Pin It

The Calm Before the Storm....

As many of you know I am a Mainer.  I have lived her my entire life and one would think that would have me used to cold and snowy winters but I still find myself getting wimpy and more than a little whiny when the temperatures plummet.  This winter we have actually not had a ton of snow but it has been a lot of ice which I find to be even less fun.  It is hard for the kids (and me!) to get out there and play because the of icy, hard ground. 

Yesterday was a true gift of  day though.  2 days ago we got just over 4 inches of snow  but yesterday the temperatures rose into the 50's.  What does this mean to a Mainer??  Well, my kids were outside playing basketball in t-shirts and I laced up my sneakers and had a wonderful run.  I love to run but icy sidewalks and roads make it a real challenge this time of year.  I enjoyed every second of that run yesterday and it is a good thing because I really needed that boost because I have a few races coming up that I am woefully unprepared for (more on that another time!).  Here is a view from my run  yesterday.....
Lovely isn't it?  Today we are bracing ourselves for a Nor'easter!  The kids are home for a snow day and the first flakes are just starting to fly now.  I have a feeling I will be trading my run in today for a workout that consists of shoveling!  Is there any snow falling where you are?  If so, stay warm!
Pin It

Dinosaur Train Movie Event...Coming Soon!

I have yet to meet a child who isn't intrigued by dinosaurs.  In fact, I have met many children who are near experts on every species that ever walked the planet!  Dinosaur Train is an adorable program on PBS that is both educational and fun and on Monday, February 20th  they have a big movie event hitting the airwaves!  Here is the scoop...

PBS KIDS’ series DINOSAUR TRAIN will premiere an all-new one-hour special, “What’s at the Center of the Earth?,” on Monday, February 20. Created by Craig Bartlett (READY JET GO!) and produced by The Jim Henson Company, DINOSAUR TRAIN encourages kids ages 3-6 to apply scientific thinking as they discover new types of dinosaur species, and to embrace the living sciences of paleontology and natural science.

“With this new DINSOAUR TRAIN special, we are excited to give families another opportunity to engage with their favorite characters and learn about nature and science,” said Lesli Rotenberg, Senior Vice President and General Manager, Children’s Media and Education, PBS. “By delivering educational programming through our member stations and their newly launched PBS KIDS 24/7 channel and live stream, we look forward to continuing to serve America’s children anytime and anywhere.”

In “What’s at the Center of the Earth?,” the Conductor has a special surprise for the Pteranodon Family: the Dinosaur Drill Train. This amazing machine gives its passengers a front row seat as they dig deep underground on a once-in-a-lifetime adventure below the Earth’s surface. There, they discover a whole new world – from fossils and troglobites to rivers of lava. Along the way, the family gains a new perspective on our planet and what it’s made of.

Following its premiere, “What’s at the Center of the Earth?” will repeat throughout February on PBS stations and the PBS KIDS 24/7 channel and live stream. It will also be available for free on both
pbskids.org and the PBS KIDS Video App, which is accessible on a variety of mobile devices and platforms such as Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire TV, Android TV, Xbox One and Chromecast. In addition, “What’s at the Center at the Earth?” and four additional DINOSAUR TRAIN stories will be available on DVD from PBS Distribution on Tuesday, February 21.

New digital content from DINOSAUR TRAIN will include “Fossil Finder,” a game that encourages kids to travel underground in the Drill Train to search for fossils. The game will be available the week of February 13
th on pbskids.org and on the free PBS KIDS Games app.

DINOSAUR TRAIN airs weekdays on PBS KIDS (check local listings) and daily on the PBS KIDS 24/7 channel and live stream.


Don't forget to tune in on the 20th (I know we will be watching!) and then check back in here and tell me what you thought! Pin It

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Coupon Time!

As you all well know, I am a gal that loves a great deal. I never hit the stores without coupons and I am able to save a lot of money (key when feeding family of 5!!). Today I have some new coupons for you print before you head out to do your shopping. I got particularly excited about the coupon for bananas!! Coupons for produce are hard to come by. Happy shopping!



COUPONS.COM

$3.00 off one Enfalyte
$5.00 off any 2 Enfalyte
$5.00 off one Orgain Protein Powder
$2.00 off one Truvia Nectar
$2.00 off one ProNourish™ Drink
$1.50 off one Boost
$1.00 off one Sunsweet PlumSweets
Buy one SNICKERS Brand, get 1 free
$0.30 off one CAN any Old El Paso Refried Beans
$1.00 off one Jennie-o
$4.00 off any 2 Mucinex products 28ct or larger
$4.00 off one Duo Fusion
$3.00 off one Stopain product
$3.00 off one Dulcolax
$1.00 off one Finish Dishwasher Detergent
$1.00 off one ARM and Hammer Liquid Laundry
$3.00 off one Gillette Disposable Razor Pack 4 ct
$3.00 off one Gillette System Razor Pack
$2.00 off one NIVEA Body Lotion, Creme or Oil Prod
$2.00 off one Eucerin Body Lotion
Buy 1 Meow Mix Bistro, get FREE Meow Mix Pate/Wet
$0.50 off Meow Mix Brushing Bites Treats


SAVINGSTAR

Save 25¢ on any single purchase of loose Bananas..Expires 2/13/2017.Save $0.25.



IBOTTA

Earn $2.00 when you purchase göt2b® Men's Styling Products
Earn $2.00 when you purchase göt2b® Women's Styling Products
Earn $0.50 when you purchase Lady Alice® Apples
Earn $1.00 when you purchase Suave® Skin Solutions Body Lotion
Earn $1.00 when you purchase Suave® Essentials Lotion
Earn $1.00 when you purchase Lik-m-aid® Fun Dip
Earn $1.25 when you purchase STOUFFER'S® Multiserve Entrees
Earn $0.00 when you purchase 3% cash back on BloomThat
Pin It

Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Back Again!

Hi Readers. 

I haven't been posting here on Reviewed by Mom is such a  long time.  As you know, life gets busy!  I have been busy working for a great web development company as well as providing care for my mom who has been having some health issues all while keeping up with my busy family!  Life has been wonderful but I have been missing writing.  A lot.

I didn't realize how much I missed it until I was talking with my 10 year old twin boys last night.  They are recently VERY interesting in YouTube and all things web related and they were asking why I had stopped writing on my website.  I didn't have a solid answer for them.   I said that I had been a little busy and I just hadn't take the time to do it.  One of them stated "If you like something you should make time to do it".  I thought that was so very insightful and  so TRUE!  So, I am listening to the wise words of my ten year old and I am getting back to writing!

I will of course have lots of great reviews and giveaways so stay tuned for those.  I am really excited about some upcoming giveaways that I already have lined up from some fun sponsors.  Over the years I have really loved sharing my favorite products, books and experiences with you all.  I hope I have helped you find some new favorites along the way.

I hope to hear feedback from you, readers, on what you have been up to and what you would like to see here on Reviewed by Mom.  I am so glad to be back at it!

More Soon,

Mom (AKA "Kristin") Pin It

Monday, August 22, 2016

Saving Abby....Review and Giveaway!

This summer has been a wonderful one full of books.  My kids are getting a little older and when they are busy playing I can often be found on the porch with a book.  It is lovely!  One great read I just finished up is "Saving Abby" by Steena Holmes.  Here is the scoop...

A children’s book illustrator, all Claire Turner ever wanted was to be a mother. Finally, after years of heartbreak following her unexpected teenage pregnancy and giving her baby up for adoption, Claire is ready to have another child with her loving and doting husband Josh. But after six years of trying to conceive, Claire and Josh have finally accepted that she will never be pregnant with a child of their own. Yet once they give up hope, the couple gets the miracle they’ve been waiting for. For the first few months of her pregnancy, Claire and Josh are living on cloud nine. But when she begins to experience debilitating headaches, blurred vision, and even fainting spells, the soon-to-be mother goes to the doctor and receives a terrifying diagnosis. Since any treatment could put their unborn baby’s life at risk, the Turners must carefully weigh their limited options. And as her symptoms worsen, Claire will have to make an impossible decision: Save her own life, or save her child’s?

My Thoughts:  Oh boy. This one was an emotional rollercoaster of a book....in a good way.  Holmes is one of those wonderful authors who can weave a tale that pulls you right into the book, somehow making you feel like you actually "know" the characters.  I found myself pulling for Claire and Josh and feeling their agony over the infertility and their joy of finally becoming pregnant.  When Claire gets her diagnosis I am NOT ashamed to say I was a blubbering mess.  Holmes made me feel that attached to her!  This book will tug at your heart strings and keep you furtively flipping pages until the very end.  If you are looking for a great book to get lost in, I would highly recommend Saving Abby!  You can pick up your copy today on Amazon...




You can also learn more about the author on here website here.
a Rafflecopter giveaway
I am so excited to tell you that the publisher, Lake Union Publishing, is giving one lucky Reviewed by Mom reader a copy of Saving Abby. Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck! Pin It

Weekend Adventure....Mt. Kineo!

Last night we got back from an extra long weekend visiting Moosehead Lake.  We go every year and we absolutely love it there.  It is the perfect place to get away from it all and unplug and spend some real quality time as a family.

This year we canoed, fished, swam and played lots of board games together.  It was wonderful.  In years past we have boated to Mt. Kineo but we have never hiked but this year we decided to hike to the top and I am so glad we did.  The hike took about 3 hours round trip and it was wonderful.  We saw rabbits, grouse and the most beautiful scenery.  There were a few spots that made me a bit nervous but the kids did amazing and I was so  proud of them!!  Hiking as a family is one of my new favorite pass times with them.  There is something about tackling a mountain together that brings you close together with a sense of   pride and accomplishment.  I can't wait for our next adventure!

If you are interested in learning more about Mount Kineo you can visit the State of Maine website here.  I have lots of great photos from our long weekend and will try and post some more later but if you are considering a trip to the Mooshead area, I would highly recommend Wilson's. This family run cabin rental compound is amazing and you won't be disappointed.  Visit Wilson's here.


Pin It

McDonald's Summer Fare....Review!

We have taken a few road trips this summer and that has been lots of fun.  We have seen some beautiful places and spent some great quality time together  We have also, like many "road tripping" families, eaten lots of quick and easy food.  Whenever we suggest grabbing food on the go, the kids almost always want McDonald's.  Like with most kids, it is a big favorite and it is always a quick and easy option.

I was recently contacted by McDonald's to check out their summer offerings....lobster rolls and blueberry and creme pies so the next time we were on the run with the kids we decided to make a stop at McDonald's to try out these new summertime eats.  The kids stuck with their "usual" orders of nuggets but my husband and I ordered the lobster roll and pie.  Because I don't eat lobster (shh....don't tell!  I am pretty sure liking "lobstah" is a real Mainer must!) I let my husband be the judge of the lobster roll and I had the blueberry pie for lunch.  Pie for lunch?!  Life is good!

The lobster roll is 100% real North Atlantic Lobster and this mattered in a big way to my husband.  My husband grew up in a fishing family and starting to work on a fishing boat when he was a kid.   When he heard "McDonald's Lobster Roll" he was suspicious because he KNOWS good lobster rolls.  To be honest, I felt nervous for McDonald's with this tough critic onboard.  Something I didn't feel nervous about was the price.  The lobster roll is only $8.99 which is a steal and you can make it a value meal with fries and a soda for under $12!

The lobster roll arrived on a toasty roll in a bed of lettuce with a very generous serving of lobster.  It looked great but what would my husband think?  His first word?  "Wow"!  He was prepared to be disappointed after years of lobster right off the boat but he was very pleased with the quality and the taste and would order one again.  That is the highest praise from someone who has stood in lines that snaked around lobster shacks for a famed lobster roll!

Now, I am sorry to say I did not take a picture of my pie.  It was long gone before I realized I hadn't snapped a photo!  I use the term "my pie" loosely because as soon as the kids saw what I was eating they had to "help" me by trying it out too (thanks kids!).  This flaky crust pie, bursting with blueberries just screamed summertime and was gone in about a minute!

If you are looking for a summertime treat be sure to head over to McDonald's and try their lobster roll and blueberry pie before this limited time offering is gone.  You won't be disappointed!  Also, be sure to follow McDonald's on Twitter and Instagram.

Disclosure:  I was provided with product coupons in order to facilitate this review but the thoughts and opinions provided are 100% my own.



Pin It

Thursday, August 18, 2016


Hello everyone! Sorry I haven't gotten to it to make more posts but I guess here's my very first one! I hope you enjoy it and let me know what else you would like to hear! YouTube has been a huge part in my life not only because it's entertaining and fun to watch but also has something to do with the generation I live in. YouTube is a giant place with many different types of YouTubers. I really enjoy watching the comedy side of YouTube and the more serious sides of it. I wanted to suggest a really amazing YouTuber, Savannah brown. Savannah brown talks a lot about the sensitive controversial things around the world and has a very positive attitude. She sometimes talks about subjects to the camera, she also does some singing on the side, as well as phenomenal poetry which I highly recommend checking out. I really think she's trying to reach out to the teen audience and is a little mature for younger audiences, but I would highly recommend this YouTuber who talks more seriously about issues. Thanks for reading! Pin It