Sunday, August 30, 2015

Deal Alert!! Back to School Clothes!

In just a few short days the kids will be starting school and I am just now thinking about back to school shopping.  Lucky for me the weather for the next couple of weeks will likely be still very summer like so I can get away with summer clothes when I send them off.  Meanwhile I can do some online shopping to get ready for those colder temperatures.  Today the deal I am most excited about is at Crazy 8's.  Do you ever shop there?  The clothes are adorable, stylish, great quality AND reasonable!  Today you can pick up everything on the site for $12.99 and under!  Shirts are $4.95 and under and outwear is 65% off.  I can't wait to stock up!  Click the picture below to take advantage of this deal and happy shopping!

Crazy 8 Sale On Now! Pin It

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Transformers Rescue Bots: Dinobots! Review & Giveaway!

Earlier this week Shout! Factory released a new DVD....Transformers Rescue Bots:  Dinobots!  Here is the scoop...


More fun with everyone’s favorite Dinobots! Chase, Heatwave, Blades and Boulder are back for more rescuing adventures in Griffin Rock! This time, their adventures are going to be huge — and prehistoric! That’s right! The Dinobots are back and they’re bringing big fun back to Griffin Rock!
 
Executive produced by Jeff Kline (TRANSFORMERS PRIME), TRANSFORMERS RESCUE BOTS features the vocal talents of LeVar Burton (Star Trek: The Next Generation), Lacey Chabert (Party of Five), Steve Blum (TRANSFORMERS PRIME), Maurice LaMarche (Emmy® Award winner for Futurama) and the legendary Peter Cullen who voices OPTIMUS PRIME when he makes cameo appearances in the series.
 
Episodes Include:
Land Before Prime
Big Game
Quarry’s Quarry
Did You See What I Thaw?
The Attack Of Humungado
 
This DVD is sure to be a big hit with your transformers fans and can be picked up on Amazon on sale for just $9.99....
 

 

I am so pleased to tell you that Shout! Factory is giving one lucky RBM reader a DVD copy of Transformers Rescue Bots: Dinobots! Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck to all! To enter use the Rafflecopter form below... a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Power Rangers Lightspeed Rescue: The Complete Series (Review & Giveaway!)

Earlier this month Shout! Factory released a DVD collection that is sure to please the action lovers in your house!  Power Rangers Lightspeed Rescue:  The Complete Series was released on August 11th and is a must for all fans.  Here is the scoop....

After five thousand years of incarceration, the evil Diabolico and his treacherous army of demons have escaped their imprisonment, and will stop at nothing to destroy the community of Mariner Bay and its innocent citizens. The new Power Rangers, empowered with top-secret technology, are the planet’s only hope. Chosen for their expert skills, this unique team of five a firefighter, an aquatics professional and a martial master, an accomplished aviator, an extreme sports enthusiast and a paramedic is commissioned to defend Earth from the evil Diabolico and wage their battle from the safety of their high-tech underwater compound and weapons laboratory, the Lightspeed Aquabase. The stakes are high as these brave Lightspeed rescuers form Earth’s final line of defense.

Our Thoughts: The kids loved this DVD!  A&W have long been fans of the show in general and had actually never seen this cast before so it was even more exciting for them.  As with all Power Ranger offerings, there is a heavy dose of action coupled with positive messages about friendship.  The kids have been enjoying these exciting episodes all summer and, in fact, this collection helped us through a recent long car trip (thanks, Power Rangers!).  The DVD can be picked up today on Amazon for  a 40% discount!
 
I am so pleased to tell you that the folks at Shout! Factory are giving one lucky RBM reader a copy of Power Rangers Lightspeed Rescue! Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck! Please use the Rafflecopter form to enter..... a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

The Seventh Dwarf....Now Available!

Are you looking for something fun to watch with the family this week? 
 
After appearing in select NY and LA theaters, Shout! Factory’s new animated feature, THE SEVENTH DWARF, is finally available NATIONWIDE on Blu-ray and DVD at Wal-Mart stores, as well as on iTunes and VOD platforms! THE SEVENTH DWARF is an exciting adventure story that unites all your favorite fairytale characters in one kingdom and stars the voices of Peyton List, Norm MacDonald, Nina Hagen and Joshua Graham. 
 
Check out the trailer below and make sure you head to a Wal-Mart store near you to experience this delightful film with your entire family! 
 
 
Pin It

Friday, August 7, 2015

Draw Snoopy!

Is anyone else excited about the upcoming Snoopy movie?  I can't wait to check it out when it hits theaters in November!  I anticipation of the movie and of Snoopy's upcoming birthday on August 10th, THE PEANUTS MOVIE is showing fans how to #DrawSnoopy!  Watch the video below where THE PEANUTS MOVIE Director Steve Martino shows how you can #DrawSnoopy. Then, share your own drawing with #DrawSnoopy and get ready for Snoopy’s big birthday celebration on August 10th!  Check it out...


Pin It

Monday, February 2, 2015

Gone Girl...Review!

 Last Spring I read the book Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and it blew me away.  I literally lost an entire day because I couldn't put the book down.  It was so smart and clever and dark....it was truly riveting and one of the best books I read all year.  When I heard there was a film coming out based on the book I was both excited and skeptical.  It was hard to believe that anything could come close to how fantastic the book was.

This past weekend my husband and I sat down to watch the movie.  I was excited to see if the film could live  up to my beloved page turner.  In case you are unfamiliar with the book or movie (where have you been??), here is the scoop...



GONE GIRL— directed by David Fincher and based upon the global best seller by Gillian Flynn — unearths the secrets at the heart of a modern marriage. On the occasion of his fifth wedding anniversary, Nick Dunne (Ben Affleck) reports that his beautiful wife, Amy (Rosamund Pike), has gone missing. Under pressure from the police and a growing media frenzy, Nick’s portrait of a blissful union begins to crumble. Soon his lies, deceits and strange behavior have everyone asking the same dark question: Did Nick Dunne kill his wife?

Every Blu-ray™ comes with an exclusive new Amazing Amy story – “Tattle Tale.” The 36-page children’s book is only available with the purchase of the GONE GIRL Blu-ray™.

Buy it HERE.

My Thoughts:  Wow.  First off, this movie is NOT for the faint of heart.  It is a true thriller with twists and turns all throughout.  I am going to be as careful as I can here to not ruin any surprises because that is part of what makes the movie so wonderful.  One of the things I really enjoyed about the book is that I never saw any of the twists coming and the movie makes the same thing happen seamlessly.  I thought Ben Affleck did a great job bringing Nick Dunne to life....his somewhat cocky and detached behavior are spot on.  Rosamund Pike is absolutely amazing.  She IS Amazing Amy.  From start to finish, Gone Girl will leave your breathlessly shaking your head as you try and figure what will happen next.  Don't even try...just let yourself be caught up in the thrilling world of Nick and Amy and be glad  your life isn't as exciting. 

I also want to mention that the addition of the Amazing Amy book with the Blu-ray is just fantastic.  I found myself shuddering and chuckling as I read through it....it was the perfect addition!

Thanks to Warner Bros for the chance to review the movie.  I was given a copy for my honest review and was not compensated for my thoughts.   Pin It

Disney on Ice is Coming to Portland! Discount Code!!

I am so excited that Disney on Ice is coming to Portland Maine next week.  We are going to opening night (stay tuned for photos and my in depth review) and the kids can't wait.  We went a couple of  years ago and it truly was a magical experience.  This year the theme is Princesses and Heroes and my daughter who is currently Elsa obsessed is over the moon about it.  Here is the scoop in case you haven't heard about the show....

 Enter a world of wonder where heroes and hearts prevail. Join Ariel as she yearns to explore the world above the waves and Prince Eric as he breaks Ursula’s slithering spell to reclaim his one true love. See Prince Phillip, in a race against time to rescue Sleeping Beauty’s Aurora, defeat the evil Maleficent as she transforms herself into a fire-breathing dragon! Be there to discover a whole new world with Jasmine and Aladdin. Join Anna and Elsa and the hilarious snowman Olaf, from Disney’s blockbuster hit Frozen, and discover how an act of true love can thaw a frozen heart. And, watch in awe as the dreams of Cinderella, Belle, Snow White, Rapunzel and Tiana all come true. High-flying jumps, daring acrobatics, breathtaking skating and lovable Disney friends are just a wish away! See Disney On Ice presents Princesses & Heroes Presented by Stonyfield YoKids Organic Yogurt where believing is just the beginning!   
The show comes to Cross Insurance Arena in Portland February 11-16.

Discount Alert:  I am so excited to tell you that Reviewed by Mom readers get an exclusive discount on Disney on Ice tickets!  Save $5 by entering MBGRP at checkout (Valid on $30 &$35 tickets. Code valid Online & Box office only. Ticketmaster and facility fees may apply. May not be used on already purchased tickets. 6 ticket limit per customer. Offer ends on February 11.) 

Click HERE to purchase tickets!  I hope to see some of you at the show and be sure to check back in next week for our review! Pin It

Dinosaur Train: Eggstravaganza + Puzzle DVD...Review & Giveaway (5 winners!)

By now, you all know how much I love PBS.  I love the programming for me (Downton Abbey anyone??) and especially for the kids.  With PBS I know the kids are watching a quality show that not only engages but also teaches.  We are fans of so many of the shows on PBS and I was delighted to hear that on January 13th PBS had released DVD and Puzzle  packs featuring some of our favorite shows!  Each DVD comes with an accompanying puzzle for your little one to enjoy...what a great idea!  Here is the rundown on these new releases...

 Join Caillou as he explores the outdoors and learns how much fun it can be to take care of the environment. Take a hike with Caillou and Grandpa to Blueberry Point or join Daddy and Grandma in the garden while they plant a tree and teach Caillou about the magic of composting. Episodes include: Caillou Can Compost; Caillou's Tree; Caillou Saves Water; Blueberry Point; Class Pet; and In the Garden.  Buy it HERE.
 
Dinosaur Train embraces and celebrates the fascination that preschoolers have with both dinosaurs and trains while sparking an interest in life science, natural history, and paleontology. Dinosaur Train - Eggstravanganza includes: Eggstravaganza; The Egg Stealer--; Hatching Party; Tank's Baby Brother; Diamond Anniversary; Nursery Car; All Kinds of Families; A Sea Turtle Tale; and The Good Mom. Buy it HERE.

 
With a breakthrough interactive approach to reading education, classic fairytales with an innovative preschool twist and colorful and empowering young heroes, Super WHY! is the only preschool property created to help kids learn the fundamentals of reading through interactive storybook adventures. Fairytales include: Jack and the Beanstalk, The Princess and the Pea, The Three Little Pigs, and Little Red Riding Hood.  Buy it HERE.

This DVD includes 3 grr-ific tales: Daniel's Birthday, Daniel's Picnic, and Neighbor Day (a special double episode). As preschoolers and their families follow four-year-old Daniel's everyday adventures, they learn fun and practical strategies and skills necessary for dealing with everyday experiences, like dealing with disappointment and discovering the joy of doing something kind for a neighbor.  Buy it HERE.

The kids and I were lucky enough to receive Dinosaur Train:  Eggstravaganza to review and it was an instant hit.  The adorable characters serve up lots of excitement with little ones peppered with plenty of scientific facts.  

If you are looking for something to engage your little ones while providing the with quality choices any one of these PBS offerings would be a fantastic way to go.  I am also thinking these would be a sweet treat for your little Valentines!

Giveaway ALERT:  I am so excited to tell you that FIVE lucky Reviewed by Mom readers will winDinosaur Train: Eggstravaganza + Puzzle DVD.  Thank you so much to the sponsor and here is how to enter...


a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It

Orkin CleanRest Pillow Encasement Giveaway!

I know bed bugs are NOT something anyone likes to think about. Ever.  I mean...ewwww!  However, gross as the thought is, bed bugs do exist and when it comes to something like this, knowledge is power!  Orkin has created some great materials to help you spot bed bugs and how to prevent them....
 Check out this fun game to see how you rate at beating the bed bugs (Hint: use the facts above as a cheat sheet!).

Giveaway Alert:  Orkin is giving one lucky reader a  CleanRest Pillow Encasement!


To enter take the quiz and tell me how you did! Use the Rafflecopter form below to enter and good luck! a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

The Siege Winter by Ariana Franklin &Samantha Norman...Review & Giveaway!

I just finished reading a great book and I am so excited to share it with you today...The Siege Winter by Ariana Franklin and Samantha Norman.  Here is the scoop...

A powerful historical novel by the late Ariana Franklin and her daughter Samantha Norman, The Siege Winter is a tour de force mystery and murder, adventure and intrigue, a battle for a crown, told by two courageous young women whose fates are intertwined in twelfth century England’s devastating civil war.
1141. England is engulfed in war as King Stephen and his cousin, the Empress Matilda, vie for the crown. In this dangerous world, not even Emma, an eleven-year-old peasant, is safe. A depraved monk obsessed with redheads kidnaps the ginger-haired girl from her village and leaves her for dead. When an archer for hire named Gwyl finds her, she has no memory of her previous life. Unable to abandon her, Gwyl takes the girl with him, dressing her as a boy, giving her a new name—Penda—and teaching her to use a bow. But Gwyn knows that the man who hurt Penda roams free, and that a scrap of evidence she possesses could be very valuable.
Gwyl and Penda make their way to Kenilworth, a small but strategically important fortress that belongs to fifteen-year-old Maud. Newly wedded to a boorish and much older husband after her father’s death, the fierce and determined young chatelaine tempts fate and Stephen’s murderous wrath when she gives shelter to the empress.
Aided by a garrison of mercenaries, including Gwyl and his odd red-headed apprentice, Maud will stave off Stephen’s siege for a long, brutal winter that will bring a host of visitors to Kenilworth—kings, soldiers . . . and a sinister monk with deadly business to finish.

My Thoughts:  I love historical fiction.  It is one of my favorite genres so I was really excited to dive into The Siege Winter and it did not disappoint.  I thought the writing stayed true to the times and the story line was incredibly exciting and moved right along.  While the twelfth century was a violent and dangerous time (and that aspect obviously IS a factor in the book) the authors bring to life characters who have a depth of emotion so much more than being a product of their times.  There is mystery, love and even some humor peppered throughout this tale.

I had never read any of the late Ariana Franklin books but I was touched to think of her daughter finishing this book for her after she passed away.  I found myself trying to figure out where Franklin left off and Norman began but I couldn't.  They must have been incredibly in sync.  After reading The Siege Winter, I will definitely be picking up earlier books from Franklin and will be hoping for more from Samantha Norman.  You can pre order The Siege Winter on Amazon by clicking HERE.

I am so pleased to tell you that the publisher is giving one lucky Reviewed by Mom reader a copy of The Siege Winter.  Thanks so much to the sponsor and here is how to enter...
a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It

The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2: Funny Side Up...Review and Giveaway!

When I was a kid, one of my favorite cartoons to watch was Tom and Jerry. I remember laughing along at all their silliness and never tiring of their antics. Now my own children love watching Tom and Jerry too and this time around they  have a crisper look!  With the latest animation the classic Tom and Jerry we grew up with comes to life for a new generation and there is now a brand new DVD available, The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2:  Funny Side Up.  Here is the scoop...

There’s more laughs, chases and races when everyone’s favorite cat and mouse duo storm back on the scene in The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2: Funny Side Up, available on DVD January 13, 2015 from Warner Bros. Home Entertainment (WBHE). The Tom and Jerry Show, which premiered number one in its time slot on basic cable in April,* brings the legendary antics of Tom and Jerry to an all-new animated TV series. The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2: Funny Side Up is comprised of 13 episodes and will retail for $19.97 SRP.

The timeless adventures of Tom and Jerry are back in a brand-new TV show the whole family can enjoy! The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2: Funny Side Up features 13 exciting escapades featuring Tom and Jerry and their favorite pals, including Spike and Tuffy.  The pursuit takes off as Tom, Jerry and the gang fly through unfriendly skies in Just Plane Nuts. Detectives Tom and Jerry are on the case to find Spike’s missing dog bones in Bone Dry. Love is in the air when a mad scientist transports Tom and Jerry to Paris to meet a girl cat and a girl mouse in Molecular Break Up. Jerry and Tuffy cause havoc on a luxury cruise liner in Cruisin’ for a Bruisin’. These and several other hilarious episodes are featured in this entertaining set.

“With cutting-edge animation and innovative story-telling, The Tom and Jerry Show, has brought a classic cartoon to a brand-new generation of viewers,” said Mary Ellen Thomas, Vice President Family & Animation Marketing. She added, “The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2: Funny Side Up will delight viewers of all ages. We’re delighted to bring another entertaining Tom and Jerry release to consumers.”

Originally created by William Hanna and Joseph Barbera, Tom and Jerry emerged during Hollywood’s golden age of animation and became one of the most popular cartoon series in existence. The shorts focus on the never-ending rivalry between Tom the cat and Jerry the mouse. The plots of each short usually center on Tom’s attempts to capture Jerry. Jerry however, is clever and quick on his feet so Tom hardly ever manages to catch him. 


Our Thoughts:  The other day it was in the single digits so the kids and I snuggled up in the living room and popped in this DVD.  What fun we had!  The same silly and fun antics between cat and mouse were still there all in the modern day animation.  The kids and I giggled and laughed as poor Tom time and time again is outsmarted by the cunning Jerry.  It is rare these days that I can find programming that appeals to the whole family but Tom and Jerry is one that everyone enjoys.  The kids have already told me they would like me to bring this DVD along on our upcoming road trip to Quebec so they can watch it on the car ride.  That sounds like a great idea to me.

If you are looking for a fun, classic program the whole family can enjoy, pick up The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2:  Funny Side Up today.  You can purchase it here.

Giveaway Alert:  I am so excited to tell you that Warner Bros has generously offered a giveaway for my readers!  One lucky Reviewed by Mom reader will win The Tom and Jerry Show Season 1 Part 2:  Funny Side Up.  Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway Pin It