Monday, March 27, 2017

Mongrels by Stephen Graham Jones...Review& Giveaway!



Who needs a book to read? I just finished up a couple over the weekend (I read instead of doing chores and I don't regret it a bit!). One of the books of the books that caused me to procrastinate was Mongrels by Stephen Graham Jones and it was well worth the mountain of laundry I am currently ignoring to write this post! Here is the scoop...

A spellbinding and darkly humorous coming-of-age story about an unusual boy, whose family lives on the fringe of society and struggles to survive in a hostile world that shuns and fears them.
He was born an outsider, like the rest of his family. Poor yet resilient, he lives in the shadows with his aunt Libby and uncle Darren, folk who stubbornly make their way in a society that does not understand or want them. They are mongrels, mixed blood, neither this nor that. The boy at the center of Mongrels must decide if he belongs on the road with his aunt and uncle, or if he fits with the people on the other side of the tracks.

For ten years, he and his family have lived a life of late-night exits and narrow escapes—always on the move across the South to stay one step ahead of the law. But the time is drawing near when Darren and Libby will finally know if their nephew is like them or not. And the close calls they’ve been running from for so long are catching up fast now. Everything is about to change.

A compelling and fascinating journey, Mongrels alternates between past and present to create an unforgettable portrait of a boy trying to understand his family and his place in a complex and unforgiving world. A smart and innovative story— funny, bloody, raw, and real—told in a rhythmic voice full of heart, Mongrels is a deeply moving, sometimes grisly, novel that illuminates the challenges and tender joys of a life beyond the ordinary in a bold and imaginative new way.


My Thoughts: At its' core this is a coming of age story.  It is about growing up and the emotional rollercoaster that can be.  However....this isn't any old "regular" tale of growing up...the narrator is a werewolf.  Yup.  Not exactly your typical teen angst!  That being said, one might say every young person has something they are afraid of or ashamed of about themselves and Jones certainly has a way of weaving the normalcy of those feelings into this book.  I am not typically a fan of werewolf/vampire/monster type stories but this book was way more than that.  Yes, there were some more graphic bits (they are werewolves after all!) but it is a wonderfully written book about life and relationships and about growing up and that is fascinating no matter what you do under the cloak of darkness!  This is a well written book that I was sorry to see end.  You can pick up your copy HERE.

I am so  pleased to tell you that the publisher, Harper Collins is giving one lucky Reviewed by Mom reader a copy of Mongrels.  Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck! a Rafflecopter giveaway

Arrojo Professional Haircare Deal!

Happy Monday, Readers!  I have an early morning deal for you from a top-notch haircare brand.  Check it out and hurry because it ends tonight!!


ARROJO Professional Haircare, founded by celebrity hairstylist Nick Arrojo, is excited to announce that they are offering free shipping AND one of their NEWEST products from the American Wave line, the Glint Texture & Shine Spray, COMPLETELY FREE when you purchase items over $80+!

To style and care for textured hair, the products are clean, green and ready to celebrate the timeless elegance, beauty and grace of texture. Glint Texture & Shine Spray is great for anyone that loves tousled shine and movement, or wants that fresh-from-the-beach look.



Claim yours now at http://arrojonyc.com/ from now until March 27th to make sure your hair game is on point this spring!

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Trader Joe's Wonton Soup Recipe

Yesterday I hit up Trader Joe's for some groceries. I am mostly a Shaw's gal but I love the produce at TJ's and there are a few items there that my family adores so I try and get there a couple of times during the month. A favorite recipe of mine was something my mother-in-law created and told me about and it is now a go to for me.  It is quick, easy, cheap and delicious!  Best of all?  It only requires four ingredients all easily picked up at Trader Joe's....
That's it!  You basically throw all of these in pot and get a yummy and healthy soup.  It is perfect for when you are low on time and is wonderful on a cold night.  Enjoy and let me know what you think! Trader Joe's Wonton Soup 1 Bag Chicken Cilantro Wontons 1/2 Bag Mixed Baby Kale 1/2 Bag Frozen Roasted Corn 1 Container Chicken Broth 3 Cups Water In a large pot combine water and broth until heated.  Add kale, corn and wontons and bring to a low boil for 2-3 minutes.  Eat and Enjoy!

Beaches.....Coming May 9th!



Who remembers the movie Beaches?  Who can remember it without crying?!  This tearjerker was one I watched over and over again and there is a remake that I am just itching to see starring Idina Menzel and Nia Long.  It comes out on May 9th on DVD and I will be buying it for sure.  Here is the scoop...

Relive the powerful story of lifelong friendship in an all-new remake of the classic movie when Beaches arrives on DVD at Walmart on May 9 from Lionsgate. Tony Award® winner Idina Menzel and NAACP Image Award Winner Nia Long star as two very different women who share an unexpected friendship that, even with its ups and downs, lasts for decades. This new version of the 1988 film includes performances by Menzel of iconic songs from the original movie such as “Wind Beneath My Wings” and “The Glory of Love,” in addition to Menzel’s new original song, “Last Time.” The Beaches DVD will be available at Walmart for the suggested retail price of $14.98.

In this contemporary remake, Beaches follows the serendipitous meeting of two young girls on the Venice Beach Boardwalk, who, though worlds apart in lifestyle, embark on an unexpected and lifelong friendship. CC (Idina Menzel) is an aspiring singer trying to make it in Los Angeles when she is discovered by a director who gives her her first big shot. Hillary (Nia Long), the daughter of a prominent civil rights lawyer, struggles to find her own destiny. Their friendship — even with its ups and downs — sustains them for decades. Gabriella Pizzolo, Grace Capeless, Jodi Capeless, Sanai Victoria, and Antonio Cupo costar.

Were you more of a CC fan or a Hillary fan? 

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Captian Underpants: The First Epic Movie Trailer!!!

If you have a grade schooler in your life you have no doubt heard of Captain Underpants.  The books are a staple here in our house!  Now there is a movie coming out and I know my kids will be thrilled to see it (me too!).  Here is the scoop and a fun trailer. Enjoy!


Based on the worldwide sensation and bestselling book series, and boasting an A-list cast of comedy superstars headed by Kevin Hart and Ed Helms, DreamWorks Animation brings audiences the long-awaited global movie event, Captain Underpants: The First Epic Movie. This raucously subversive comedy for the entire family tells the story of two overly imaginative pranksters named George and Harold, who hypnotize their principal into thinking he's a ridiculously enthusiastic, incredibly dimwitted superhero named Captain Underpants.
 
CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS: THE FIRST EPIC MOVIE Official Channels
#CaptainUnderpants




Care Bears & Cousins: BFF's

I am sure you all remember the adorable Care Bears from when you were a kid.  Back in the 1980's I adored the Care Bears and was a big fan of the television show and well as a collector of all of the different stuffed animals.  I am happy to report that the Care Bears are still around and they are as cute and fun as before and I love that I get to share them with my daughter.  A brand new DVD hit the shelves earlier this month and it is a must for Care Bears fans.  Here is the scoop on Care Bears & Cousins:  BFF's....


The lovable Care BearsTM and their kindhearted cousins return for more adventures in Care Bears & Cousins: BFFs – Volume 2, arriving on DVD and Digital HD March 7 from Lionsgate. Consisting of six episodes from the all-new series, this installment follows the Care Bears as they teach children important lessons through their exciting journeys in the magical land of Care-a-Lot. With hours of adorable entertainment, the Care Bears & Cousins: BFFs – Volume 2 DVD will be available for the suggested retail price of $14.98.


Join the Care Bears in Care-a-Lot where friendship is in full bloom! The Care Bears and their Cousins discover that best friends are forever in these sweet and smile-raising adventures. Whether they’re trying to help Brave Heart have the awesomest day ever, caring for an injured Grumpy or learning valuable lessons about jealousy and the importance of keeping promises, the Care Bears and their Cousins fill every moment with caring, sharing and fun!

Our Thoughts:  The message behind the Care Bears remains the same...caring and friendship help overcome all obstacle.  My daughter loved this DVD.  The Care Bears are as adorable as ever and so are their cousins!  The DVD's present life important life lessons such as sharing, friendship and jealousy and show children that being kind can help you through anything.  I loved sharing "old friends" with my daughter think this DVD is a must for kiddos or anyone wanting a trip down memory lane.  You can pick up your copy HERE.

Did you watch the Care Bears when you were a kid?  Who was your favorite?


***We received this product to facilitate an honest review.  All opinions express are my own and I was not compensated in any way however, my posts may include ads which I may receive commission on if a purchase is made.

Monday, March 20, 2017

The Baker's Secret by Stephen P. Kiernan....Review & Giveaway!

You all know how much I love a good book.  There is nothing quite like curling up at the end of the day in a cozy spot with a new read.  It is how I unwind every, single day.  Many of my hobbies ebb and flow with their popularity in my life but reading is more of a way of life for me than a hobby I suppose.  I am pretty sure there has not been a day in my life that has not included  a book and I am not sure how I would fall asleep at night without one. 

The latest book I have to share with you was a wonderful read...The Baker's Secret by Stephen P. Kiernan.  Here is the scoop...

From the multiple-award-winning, critically acclaimed author of The Hummingbird and The Curiosity comes a dazzling novel of World War II—a shimmering tale of courage, determination, optimism, and the resilience of the human spirit, set in a small Normandy village on the eve of D-Day.
On June 5, 1944, as dawn rises over a small town on the Normandy coast of France, Emmanuelle is making the bread that has sustained her fellow villagers in the dark days since the Germans invaded her country.
Only twenty-two, Emma learned to bake at the side of a master, Ezra Kuchen, the village baker since before she was born. Apprenticed to Ezra at thirteen, Emma watched with shame and anger as her kind mentor was forced to wear the six-pointed yellow star on his clothing. She was likewise powerless to help when they pulled Ezra from his shop at gunpoint, the first of many villagers stolen away and never seen again.
In the years that her sleepy coastal village has suffered under the enemy, Emma has silently, stealthily fought back. Each day, she receives an extra ration of flour to bake a dozen baguettes for the occupying troops. And each day, she mixes that precious flour with ground straw to create enough dough for two extra loaves—contraband bread she shares with the hungry villagers. Under the cold, watchful eyes of armed soldiers, she builds a clandestine network of barter and trade that she and the villagers use to thwart their occupiers.
But her gift to the village is more than these few crusty loaves. Emma gives the people a taste of hope—the faith that one day the Allies will arrive to save them.

My Thoughts:   I love historical fiction and this book was wonderfully written and one I couldn't put down.  Emma is an engaging heroine and Kiernan was masterful at bringing her and the other characters to life.  The story is that of Emma and the other villagers as they cope with the Nazi occupation of their town.  Emma is a true mastermind, coming up with ways to barter/trade and trick the Nazi's in order to help her neighbors.  It was  an exciting read about Emma's enterprising ways, the affect of the Nazi's as well as the moving sacrifices one will make to help others.  This book is truly historical fiction at it's best.  This would make a wonderful book club pick!

You can pre-order this book now (it comes out in May) on the Harper Collins website HERE.

I am thrilled to tell you that Harper Collins is giving one lucky Reviewed by Mom reader a copy of Stephen P. Keirnan's The Baker's Secret!  Thank you to the sponsor and good luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hurricane Spin Scrubber Giveaway!

Contest sponsored by:  Reviews And More By Rosey

and

www.bulbhead.com

Hi Readers!  I have a great giveaway to share with you today!  I know housework can be a real pain and I am always on the hunt for anything that makes it go more quickly.  The Hurricane Spin Scrubber does the hard work for you.  It is great for tile, sinks, showers and more.  Check it out and cut down on your cleaning time (woo-hoo!).  See below for details on how you can win!

The kind folks at ­­­­www.bulbhead.com the makers of the Hurricane Spin Scrubber want to give one lucky entrant their very own Hurricane Spin Scrubber.  Please be sure to complete each task as all entries will be verified before any prize is awarded.  Any fraudulent entries will be disqualified.

  a Rafflecopter giveaway     No purchase is necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law. The odds of winning are based on the number of entries received. Contest open to US residents 18 years of age or older only. Confirmed Winner(s) (by Random.org) will be contacted by email. Winner(s) have 48 hours to claim their prize before a new winner is chosen. All entries will be verified before prize(s) will be awarded.  Any fraudulent entries will result in forfeiture of your entries. Reviews And More By Rosey is not responsible for product shipment and/or delivery. This event is in no way administered, sponsored, or endorsed by, or associated with, Facebook, Twitter, Google, Pinterest, or Instagram. This disclosure is done in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission 10 CFR, Part 255 Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.  Prize winner must find the Congratulations post on my Facebook page (www.Facebook.com/reviewsandmorebyrosey) and comment under it in order to claim their prize.

Contest terms and conditions:  http://www.reviewsandmorebyrosey.com/giveaway-terms-conditions/

Monday Morning Coupons!

Monday means lots of great printable coupons!  Be sure to print these off before you hit the stores.  What are you hoping to save on this week?  I am low on laundry detergent so the Tide is a good one for me and I am also going to use the M&M's coupons to start stocking up for Easter.

Happy Saving!

FEATURED COUPONS

$2.00 off one Tide

Buy one Bella Small Dog Food, get 1 free

COUPONS.COM

$1.00 off any THREE Kelloggs Fruit Flavored Snacks
$1.00 off any ONE Carrs Crackers
$1.00 off any 2 M&M'S Brand Chocolate Candies
$0.75 off one Bridgford
$0.50 off one Dragone Cheese
$1.00 off any TWO Kelloggs Special K Cereals
$0.50 off one Treasure Cave Cheese
$0.50 off one Frigo Cheese
$0.75 off any ONE Kelloggs Frosted Flakes Cereal
$1.00 off any one size St. Joseph low dose aspirin
$0.50 off one Shout product
$2.00 off one Tide
$2.00 off one Gain
$1.00 off one L'Oreal Paris
$0.50 off one Edge Shave Gel
Buy one Bella Small Dog Food, get 1 free
$2.00 off one Bella Small Dog Food
Buy one Bella Small Dog Food, get 1 free
$3.00 off one Bella Small Dog Food
$3.00 off one Bella Small Dog Food
Buy one Bella Small Dog Food, get 1 free


REDPLUM

SAVE $1.00 off ANY Emergen-C® Dietary Supplement (8ct or larger)
$2.00 OFF any ONE (1) Noxzema® 5 or 4-Blade; Triple Blade (4, 8 or 10 count); Twin Blade (12 count) or Sonic Beauty Wand
SAVE $0.50 on any ONE (1) Snuggle® product (Excludes trial sizes)
SAVE $0.50 on any ONE (1) all® product (Excludes trial sizes)
SAVE $0.50 off any ONE (1) Quilted Northern Ultra Soft & Strong® Bath Tissue, 6 Double Roll or larger


SAVINGSTAR

Save 50¢ on any ONE (1) Quilted Northern Ultra Soft & Strong® Bath Tissue, 6 Double Roll or larger.Expires 4/19/2017.Save $0.50.
Save 50¢ on any ONE (1) all® product (Excludes trial sizes).Expires 5/6/2017.Save $0.50.
Save 50¢ on any ONE (1) Snuggle® product (Excludes trial sizes).Expires 5/6/2017.Save $0.50.
Save $1.00 on ANY ONE (1) Emergen-C® Dietary Supplement (8ct or larger).Expires 6/19/2017.Save $1.00.


IBOTTA

Earn $5.00 when you purchase Spend $25 at Hallmark Gold Crown
Earn $8.00 when you purchase Huggies® Diapers

Friday, March 17, 2017

Snow, Runs & You Tube!

Happy Saturday, Readers! I have so much great content to get up on the blog....recipes, reviews and a some fun giveaways. This week has been a bit crazy though! We had a massive snow storm on Monday and Tuesday. Actually it was a blizzard that dumped almost 2 feet of snow on us! The kids ended up with a snow day (our 7th this year!!) and a delayed start and it was really quite lovely. We alternated between heading outside in the crazy wind and snow and playing and warming up inside with snuggles, books, board games and a bit of marathon Survivor watching. The kids now love the show and we are watching past seasons together. All in all a very relaxing and cozy day but I certainly did not get done all the things I planned to do!

My older boys have been all over me to start a You Tube channel. They think it would be fun for me to do my reviews in video format. I am not sure about that yet...what do you all think?! Would you watch me talk about a book I am reading? I might give it a shot even though I am no wiz at taking videos and I feel sure I will look like a big goofball on camera.  In any case,  you can find my channel HERE in case you want to subscribe for when I do have some content there.  I feel they will convince me to take the leap very soon...my kids are very persuasive :)!

Despite the crazy snow I did manage to get quite a few runs in this week.  Most were on the treadmill which is NOT my favorite but better than nothing.  I did 5 three mile runs.  I wanted to keep my runs at 3 because I am so afraid of hurting myself.  Next week I will be tacking more distance on each run but I am overall pleased about where I am.  I am not doing that well with adding any other exercise and/or weights into my regimen so this coming week I will be addressing that too.  I am thinking I will share my plan with you all in case you want to do it too.  The buddy system, right?!  I hope you will join me because I always appreciate the motivation!

Off to start my Saturday as I hear the house beginning to stir.  Have a wonderful day and be sure to check back later to see how I am doing playing catchup.  For now I will sign off with a few photos from our snowy week!

Beauty & The Beast has Arrived!! New Clip!

Is anyone else headed to the theaters to see Beauty & the Beast this weekend?  We have a crazy, busy schedule but I am still really hoping to squeeze it in.   I think the movie looks amazing and I have been wanting to see if since I first heard about it. 

To celebrate the release I have a brand new clip for you to enjoy....



Now I am even more excited to see it!  If you go, let me know what you thought.  I can't wait to talk to you all about it.

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Ripstix Hydrate Giveaway!

Good Morning, Readers! Are you a soda drinker? If so, have I got a product for you!   Ripstix Hydrate helps fill your craving for soda without all the "yuck".  Here is the scoop and a chance to win from my friend over at The Stuff of Success blog....


The Stuff of Success bring us this rare opportunity to enter a giveaway for Zija products.   Welcome to Ripstix Hydrate!   Besides carbonation, artificial coloring, and an excess of other synthetic ingredients, a typical soda contains 15-18 teaspoons of sugar per serving and upwards of 240 calories; this may account for around 10% of an individual’s daily caloric allowance, pushing them over the limit and reducing the amount of healthy calories consumed from whole foods, fruits and vegetables.   Soda consumption is strongly linked to weight management issues in adults as well as children. The food and beverage industry currently spends approximately $2 billion per year marketing to children ages 2-17. In the United States, nearly 40% of children’s diets come from added sugars and unhealthy fats. To help address the soda epidemic, Zija International has formulated Ripstix Hydrate.
   
This small container has a huge impact on hydration.  Mix the following amounts of Ripstix Hydrate with cold water, shake or stir well, and drink: 1 scoop for 32 oz. water, 4 scoops for 1 gallon (128 oz) of water, or the entire container for 5 gallons (640 oz) of water.  

BENEFITS

Ripstix Hydrate tastes great, replenishes essential electrolytes lost through regular and physical activity, and is safe for all ages.
 
*********************************************************************

Giveaway

One lucky reader will win a contaner of Zija Ripstix Hydrate.  The prize will be sent directly to the winner from TheStuffofSuccess. Please allow 1 week for shipping.  The giveaway will run from 03/15/17 through 03/22/17  at 11:59pm EST.  The giveaway is open worldwide. We reserve the right to cancel any giveaway.  No purchase is necessary. One entry per person per household.  This giveaway is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with Facebook.    

PB&J Overnight Oatmeal 



On most weekday mornings I am in a rush.  Like many others we have a busy household and no matter how well prepared we are mornings are always a scramble.  Despite busy starts it is important to me that everyone eats something nutritious to start the day off right.  We rely on "grab and go" type things and today I am eating something I whipped up last night in about two minutes that is SO delicious!! 

I made PB&J Overnight Oatmeal (recipe to follow) knowing my morning would be busy today.  This  morning I grabbed it and it not only was it delicious, it was packed with fiber, calcium, iron and protein.  Win!!  This is a great recipe for the entire family and it takes just the tiniest bit of planning.  You could make a big batch and have breakfast for the whole family ready to go.  Enjoy and please let me know  how you like it!


PB&J Overnight Oatmeal

1/2 Cup Oats (uncooked)
1/2 Cup skim milk
2 TBS peanut butter
2 TBS Jam
1/2 cup chopped apple

Put oats in a container of your choosing (I use mason jars) and cover with the milk.  Layer the peanut butter, then jam then chopped apples.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 4 hours.   Enjoy!

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Wild Kratts: Triple Feature...Review & Giveaway!

Yesterday a brand new PBS DVD was released and it is sure to be a hit with animal lovers... Wild Kratts: Triple Feature! Here is the scoop...
PBS Distribution announced the release of “WILD KRATTS: TRIPLE FEATURE,” which includes content from three previously released DVDs bundled together onto one disc. The eight episodes included in this collection, which feature amazing creatures and dastardly villains, are from “Predator Power,” “Lost at Sea,” and “Rainforest Rescue.” From talking with dolphins in the story “Speaking Dolphinese,” to working to save a black jaguar cub in Central America from Zach Varmitech in the episode “Shadow: The Black Jaguar,” the “WILD KRATTS: TRIPLE FEATURE” is full of action-packed adventures.



Predator Power
·      “Stuck on Sharks”
·      “Mimic”
·      “Little Howler”
·      “Raptor Roundup”

Lost at Sea
·      “Speaking Dolphinese”
·      “Blowfish Blowout”

Rainforest Rescue
·      “Rainforest Stew”
·      “Shadow: The Black Jaguar”

WILD KRATTS transforms the Kratt Brothers, creators of the award-winning “Kratts’ Creatures” and Emmy-winning “Zoboomafoo,” into animated versions of themselves, allowing the real-life zoologists to visit wild animals in their little-seen habitats and showcase key science concepts along the way. From elephants using physics to suck gallons of water with their trunks to a fleet of peregrine falcons that harness the force of gravity to speed through the air, each episode of WILD KRATTS presents age-appropriate science inspired by the natural abilities of the animals that the Kratt Brothers – and young viewers – meet. WILD KRATTS airs daily on PBS KIDS (check local listings).

Our Thoughts:  Wild Kratts is a great show and one we have enjoyed for years.  I love that it features not only animals but science as well which is an area not often touched upon in shows for young children.  I think providing kiddos with science facts and information at a young age helps spark a real interest as they get older.  This DVD set is a super way to get a great collection going of the series.  My kids love animals and this show has always been a big hit between the cool scientific facts, interesting animals and fun Kratt brothers.  This show is a win every time.  You can pick up this up on Amazon for just $14.99!

I am also so excited to share that PBS Kids is giving one lucky Reviewed by Mom reader a copy of Wild Kratts: Triple Feature! Thanks so much to the sponsor and good luck! a Rafflecopter giveaway