Thursday, October 27, 2011

Don't Sing at the Table...Review & Giveaway!

Earlier this month a new release hit the shelves....Don't Sing at the Table by Adriana Trigiani.  Here is the scoop....
New York Times bestselling author Adriana Trigiani shares a treasure trove of insight and guidance from her two grandmothers: time-tested, common sense advice on the most important aspects of a woman’s life, from childhood to the golden years. Seamlessly blending anecdote with life lesson, Don’t Sing at the Table tells the two vibrant women’s real-life stories—how they fell in love, nurtured their marriages, balanced raising children with being savvy businesswomen, and reinvented themselves with each new decade. For readers of Big Stone Gap, Very Valentine, Lucia, Lucia, and Rococo, this loving memoir is the Trigiani family recipe for chicken soup for the soul.
My mother in law the Queen Bee dug right into this one and this is what she had to say...

Grandmothers give all kinds of sage advice. I think most of it probably is in one ear and out the other when we are young. Fodder for eye rolling in our teenage years, I am sure. But as we get older and have grandchildren of our own, these little gems of wisdom start coming out of our own mouths. Trigiani's Don't Sing at the Table is a compilation of great advice from both of her grandmothers. Some spoken, some unwittingly aborbed. 
The author was very lucky to have spent alot of time with both of her hard-working Italian grandmothers. Both very strong women with very strong opinions on family and business. Viola was a seamstress who started as a sewing machine operator in a clothing factory. She was promoted to manager, and after she married, co-owned a blouse factory with her husband. Lucia was also a sewing machine operator in a children's clothing factory.  When she married a shoemaker, they planned to open their own shoe business but unfortunately her husband died suddenly at age 39. Lucia worked in a shoe factory making children's shoes while she put her three children through college. 
Trigiani writes about her two grandmothers with humor and respect, telling stories of the  history of her family, from Italy to New York and beyond. A sentimental journey packed with advice that we could all use !
Sounds like a great read, packed with lots of grandmotherly advice!  Pick it up today on Amazon...


The publisher, Harper Collins is giving one lucky RBM reader a copy of Don't Sing at the Table! Thanks so much to the sponsor and here is how to enter...

17 comments:

Elaine said...

Not special advice that I can remember- just something she used to say that has stuck. "I'm so mad I could spit nails!"
elund323@yahoo.com

Heather said...

My grandmother always insisted that if you don't have anything nice to say, then don't say anything at all.
hschonrock at yahoo dot com

Hifam said...

My grandmother had all kinds of sayings. One of them was the rest of this book's title. "Don't sing at the table or dance at the bed, the devil will get you before you're dead." I'm not sure if I'm remembering it word for word, but I heard that saying quite frequently.

Kimberly said...

It's kind of sad when you think about it. My Grandmother told me to always have a secret bank account if you have to leave your husband. Nana didn't have much luck in marriage.

Gina said...

My Granny was full of sayings, but my fave was never worry today about what you put off till tomorrow.

sandyandcosmo said...

My grandmother taught me "Don't get mad, get even!" She was a feisty one!

Terri said...

When I was a child my paternal grandmother was always giving me and my siblings her words of wisdom. One thing that always stuck with me is "Never speak ill of the dead." Another gem was "Never put new shoes on a table." It was supposed to bring bad luck and all these years later, even though I say I'm not superstitious, I make sure my family members never put new shoes on a table. :-)

Ng said...

"oh, dear, bread and beer
If I was there, I wouldn't be here"
:) silly, but profound at that!

EastTennMom said...

"Somethings are better left unsaid"

Sharonna said...

While she may not have been one to give a lot of advice, I learned a lot by her quiet and gentle attitude. Her actions truly did speak louder than her words. :)

corey1971 said...

To always follow my heart. (olomon@hotmail.com)

kimnkitties said...

Grandmothers always know best, we just don't realize it sometimes until it is too late.

Sweetsillysara said...

My dear Grandmother, she told me that finding enjoyment in crafts would keep me out of trouble and she was right!

Diana said...

always treat others as you would want to be treated
hrddiana556@gmail.com

Kathy Davis said...

When I was pregnant with my first child my grandma asked me what was I going to do with all that eduction since I was going to have a baby. I told her I still had to work and my education wouldn't go to waste. I told her I couldn't afford not to work and she told me... then you can't afford to have this baby. I ended up working half time and had the best of both worlds.
Kathy Davis
kdavis1@centurytel.net

Juleemm said...

My grandmother taught me to sew and to can food. I loved it when she said "you make a better door than you do a window" whenever someone blocked her view of the tv.

Laurie said...

Mine taught me to make some killer biscuits for breakfast! She always said to feed your family well and she always did

laurie1993@verizon.net