Monday, November 5, 2012

And Now We Shall Do Manly Things...Review & Give Away!

Are you looking for a fascinating read?  An engrossing book for the men AND women on your list?  Then look no further the newly released, And Now We Shall Do Manly Things by Craig J Heimbuch.  Here is the scoop...


In the tradition of Bill Bryson's A Walk in the Woods and A. J. Jacobs's The Know-It-All, Craig J. Heimbuch takes a wry look at some of our most deeply cherished cultural beliefs
Craig J. Heimbuch had never even thought of owning a gun when, in his early thirties, he was given a twelve-gauge Winchester over-under shotgun by his father. The black sheep, so to speak, of his Midwestern family, Craig was possibly the only male Heimbuch never to have taken an animal. But now that he had a shotgun, he figured he might as well try it out, and in so doing, explore the meaning of manhood while getting closer to his hunting-enthusiast dad.
And Now We Shall Do Manly Things is the witty, moving, and insightful story of one man's quest to free himself from the shackles of his domesticated suburban lifestyle by immersing himself for one year in the hunting culture his family has always cherished. Along the way Heimbuch learns what putting food on the table once entailed and what it means to be a man in America—and discovers that it's possible to be a committed father, a loving spouse, and a hunter without being mistaken for a gun-toting lunatic.

What a great book!  I was so interested in this because I did not grow up in a hunting family AT ALL (see....not all of us "Maine-ah's" are outdoorsy folks!) but I am now married to someone who loves to hunt.  It has been an adjustment for me to understand and even embrace the lifestyle so I could really appreciate the author's journey.  On top of being able to somewhat relate, the author has a style that is charming and witty and made me want to invite him over for a little Maine woods venison!

You can pick up your copy today on Amazon....

I am so happy to tell you that the publisher is giving one lucky RBM reader a copy of And Now We Shall Do Manly Things.  Thanks so much to the sponsor and here is how to enter... a Rafflecopter giveaway

56 comments:

olygirl said...

Not a hunter, but my family is. I'd like to know more about it.

Amy W. said...

I am from a hunting family. cwitherstine at zoominternet dot net

Dana said...

Not a hunter, but growing up in the South meant I was exposed to tons of it. Looks like an interesting read!

bkittie said...

I'm not from a hunting family. I have nothing against other people hunting, but I would probably sit down and cry if I ever shot an animal!
bkittie at hotmail.com

Nichole said...

I'm not a hunter but I do come from a hunter family.

gail said...

we are not
gkuroda(at)gmail(d0t)com

Racquel S said...

I came from a semi-hunting family and my hubby does it occasionally!

Jenna Wood said...

I have friends who are hunters.

Nicole Seay said...

I've never hunted before, but I'd like to! I do not come from a hunting family.

deanna said...

hunting family
xxoo

deanna said...

FB deanna time
xoxo

Miranda Gonzalez said...

I am not a hunter or from a hunting family, but I would sure love it if my husband and son would get into it. Maybe this book is the inspiration he will need.

Miranda Gonzalez said...

I commented on your FB page, Miranda Bohannan Gonzalez.

Shara Toennies said...

I do come from a hunting family. Husband does too, but I don't have the heart for it. I get upset if it takes too long for me to take a fish off the hook.

michelle mcafee said...

I'm not a hunter but my brother in law is ml_mcafee@yahoo.com

Hilary Mercer said...

my husband has just got into ALL THINGS MANLY.

Kristen said...

My Dad was a hunter.

coni guerin said...

My dad and grandfather were hunters.

sandyandcosmo said...

We are not a hunting family but lots of our friends are hunters.

Anita Shapiro said...

Not a hunter myself, but hubby is.

Anonymous said...

I am from a hunting family.

blew415 said...

I am not a hunter, but my husband is trying to get into it

dispatcher_kristy said...

I am not a hunter myself but I have many family members (male and female) that are

Anonymous said...

I have connected with f.b. (jeanlawrencebrown@Facebook.com)

Giant Sis said...

My family is not hunters - but my in-laws are. I know my husband used to go hunting when he was young!
~Liz N

Em R said...

My uncle loves hunting! This looks so interesting!!

heather abbe said...

We are a hunting family.

My Name: Heather Abbe
My Email: abbegirl1977 at gmail dot com

heather abbe said...

Left a FB comment for you here: https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=204126859723277&id=112329868790237

My Facebook URL: https://www.facebook.com/awesomegiveaways

My Name: Heather Abbe
My Email: abbegirl1977 at gmail dot com

heather abbe said...

I put your button on my blog here: http://awesomebloggiveaways.blogspot.com/2012/11/book-and-now-we-shall-do-manly-things.html

http://awesomebloggiveaways.blogspot.com/

My Name: Heather Abbe
My Email: abbegirl1977 at gmail dot com

Dakarimom5 said...

I'm not a hunter. But my husband went hunting one time and got an 8 point deer.

Dakarimom5 said...

I'm not a hunter. But my husband went hunting one time and got an 8 point deer.

The Cake Engineer said...

I'm not a hunter or from a family that hunts but I'd love to hunt some day! Thanks.

kaseycone said...

cousins hunt. not me

DONNA CHEATLE said...

I'm not a hunter, although I can say that I did give it a try when I was a teenager. I loved the outdoors, I loved the woods. I had a perfect opportunity to take a shot and just could NOT do it. Nope, no way, no how. Not only could I not do it, I made a ton of noise so that the deer was startled and ran away and the people who were near me couldn't shoot it either. We left pretty fast after that, lol

Debbie Lewis said...

The men in my family love to hunt but I really don't see the fun in it so I go shopping instead

Ally said...

We're not a family of hunters but we go out hiking and get to talk to hunters quite frequently!

Emi Pearce said...

We are a hunting family. I have hunted pheasant before kids but now someone has to stay home with them.

Michelle said...

We are not hunters, but I think my husband would like to be, and that just makes me laugh!

susan quackenbush said...

We are not a hunting family but I loved to hunt when I was a youngster.

Kelly said...

I'm not a hunter- though I have been before and killed a deer. My husband and father are!

Lisa @ Simply Things Family said...

We don't hunt or come from hunting family's. But, we have many friends that go every year!

let it be said...

I have yet to go hunting, my husband loves it!

let it be said...

Sarah perry on Fb :)

Sara McManaway said...

Yes, my Dad and brother are hunters.

Sara McManaway said...

I love your facebook "about" description!

sayjaymc

sayjay @ packedhousexxx com

JP said...

Neither my family or me are hunters. But it sounds like an interesting read.

Laurie said...

My husband loves to hunt

Stephanie O'Day said...

I come from a family of hunters, have several friends that are hunters and my husband and his family all hunt!

Danikatsouros said...

I'm not from a family of hunters, but I'd love to learn to hunt!

Mercedes said...

My husband's family hunts, and makes it into jerky.

Angie Church said...

while I am not from a hunting family my community celebrates the right to hunt

bloomerbear said...

I don't hunt but enjoy hearing about it from my family and friends

pattifritz2000 at yahoo dot com
thank you

Beckeesdeals said...

Not at all from a hunting family, but married into one.

beckeesdeals at gmail dot com

Sarah Yurga said...

my brother, the city boy - just started duck hunting. First for our family for sure!

sarahyurga@yahoo.com

debra daigle said...

I dont hunt but my father in law does!

Anonymous said...

I would love this!
sweeps@neb.rr.com