Tuesday, September 15, 2015

The Invisibles by Cecelia Galante...Review and Giveaway!

 
Who is ready for another great read for the fall?  Here is the scoop on the book I just finished up, The Invisibles by Cecilia Galante.....



In the vein of Meg Donohue and Jennifer Close, comes Cecilia Galante’s adult debut about the complicated and powerful bonds of female friendship—a compelling, moving novel that is told in both the present and the past.
Thrown together by chance as teenagers at Turning Winds Home for Girls, Nora, Ozzie, Monica, and Grace quickly bond over their troubled pasts and form their own family which they dub The Invisibles. But when tragedy strikes after graduation, Nora is left to deal with the horrifying aftermath alone as the other three girls leave home and don’t look back.
Fourteen years later, Nora is living a quiet, single life working in the local library. She is content to focus on her collection of “first lines” (her favorite opening lines from novels) and her dog, Alice Walker, when out-of-the-blue Ozzie calls her on her thirty-second birthday. But after all these years, Ozzie hasn’t called her to wish a happy birthday. Instead, she tells Nora that Grace attempted suicide and is pleading for The Invisibles to convene again. Nora is torn: she is thrilled at the thought of being in touch with her friends, and yet she is hesitant at seeing these women after such a long and silent period of time. Bolstered by her friends at the library, Nora joins The Invisibles in Chicago for a reunion that sets off an extraordinary chain of events that will change each of their lives forever.
The Invisibles is an unforgettable novel that asks the questions: How much of our pasts define our present selves? And what does it take to let go of some of our most painful wounds and move on?

My Thoughts:  I  loved this book!  The author did a fantastic job of weaving the four women of this tale together and creating a cast of characters you will laugh and cry with and who will keep you guessing until the end.  Right from the get go, the author springs into action and hooks you.  I enjoyed her depiction of the power of friendship and all the complicated emotions that go along with those friendships and how they define you throughout your life.    If you are looking for a great read to start the fall off, I highly recommend this one!  Pick up The Invisibles by Cecelia Galante today on Amazon....



I am so excited to tell you that the publisher is giving one lucky Reviewed by Mom reader a copy of The Invisibles!  Thank you so much to the sponsor and good luck!  Please use the Rafflecopter form to enter.... a Rafflecopter giveaway

25 comments:

Peggy said...

I usually read about 25 books a year.

Peggy said...

I have pinned the post https://www.pinterest.com/pin/135178426292830530/

Peggy said...

I commented and liked the post https://www.facebook.com/reviewedbymom/photos/a.470678479622039.111137.112329868790237/989765891046626/?type=1&theater

Jackie said...

I usually read two a month...sometimes more. I'd say about 28 books.

Nancy said...

Gosh - so many books that I have never kept count! I read several hundred books a year for sure.

Nancy
allibrary (at) aol (dot) com

Diana said...

I read about 15 books a year
hrddiana556@gmail.com

wen budro said...

I average about one a week. So, I'd say that I read 50 books a year....more or less.

Meghan Berdelle said...

About one a month, I don't have much time!

Donna said...

I honestly don't get a lot of time to sit and read so I probably only read 3-5 a year.

AngelWinner said...

About two a month but more in the Summer.

Darlene said...

I probably read 200 books a year.

D Johnson said...

Not really sure, if I am busy, then maybe only 30 or so.

Soo said...

I try to read 24 books a year.

Isaiahsmom said...

I used to be able to read alot like 26 or more a year but as a Mom now I maybe get 12 a year done.

Elisabeth Stone said...

I read propbably 15-18 books a year... I would love to read more, life just gets busy sometimes... I got a kindle earlier this year and have started to read more often

Della said...

I read about 55 a year. I love to read!

alisha s said...

It all depends on the year... I average about 1-2 books per week, so maybe 75 books each year.

Caroline said...

I usually read between 5 and 10 books a year.

Allison Bahr said...

I probably read 6-8 books each year, more if you include all the reading for my masters program! Thanks so much for the chances to win.

kelley roach said...

About one a month, I don't have much time!

Kammie said...

I educate our children at home, plus read bedtime stories nighty. I read at least one children's book daily & one adult book per week. SO minimum? About 417

Lynne said...

I've never actually counted, but I would say between 12 and 18 because on average I read one per month, but sometimes 2.

Melissa B. said...

I read at least ten books per year.

Gail Fernandez said...

I probably read 20-30 books each year.

tracy webb said...

I read around 100 books a year.